Micromanagers Are Trying to Make Us Go Back to the Office

And the gossips and slackers are cheering them on

Ronke Babajide
Predict

--

Classic managers come from a long history of watching their employees’ every move and assuming that they are slacking off the minute they turn their back. It’s been a while, but I distinctly remember the frustration I felt working for a small Austrian company.

My boss reprimanded me every time I came to work 5 minutes after 9. There was nothing to do. Nobody called. It didn’t matter what I was doing when I was present. But it was a problem that I wasn’t sitting at my desk at 9. That company doesn’t exist anymore, but I have vowed to never work in such an environment again.

I now work for an international software company. Remote working and home office are accepted in this space; some companies don’t even bother to have an office.

The Future of Work

“The Future of Work” is one of the most overused slogans of the past few months. No one is entirely sure what it means, but it’s here, and we have to adjust.

My current company spent a lot of money to keep us safe and comfortable during the pandemic. After four months of the “new normal,” they sent a survey asking how we want to work in the future. The choices were: continue working…

--

--

Ronke Babajide
Predict

Woman in Tech, Natural Scientist, Life Coach, Speaker, Podcaster, Founder, Feminist. I write about Women, Feminism, Work, Science, Personal Growth & Life