My 3 Minimalist Devices for Productivity

Joseph Mavericks
Predict
Published in
11 min readMar 7, 2020

--

I’m not a hardcore minimalist in general, but I am when it comes to technology. I truly believe that technology is a blessing and a curse at the same time. Unless you simplify the way you use it, you’re almost guaranteed to fall in a spiral of distractions and temptations that are stirring you away from actual work. You can’t focus if you have a dozen apps screaming for your attention. You might think you’re focused and working, but the truth is you’re getting interrupted every 10 minutes, sometimes without even noticing it.

Over time, I’ve learned to reduce the number of distractions coming from my various devices to be able to use them for productive work. The only way to do this was through minimalism, and it starts with one golden rule.

One Device, One Use

Before even talking about the setup I have for each device, we need to talk about the golden rule: one device for one use, period. Constantly hopping from one device to the other makes it impossible to focus for long periods of time.

The one device one use rule means physically separating the devices from each other as much as possible. If I’m working on my laptop, I’ll put my phone in another room. If I’m reading on my e-reader, I don’t want to use my phone in between either. Separating devices from each other is the first step…

--

--

Joseph Mavericks
Predict

Living with a purpose and improving myself is changing my life — I also make Youtube videos: bit.ly/3QAEXTm