Question that hunted me and humanity for centuries

Alex Wanderer
Predict
Published in
3 min readJan 13, 2024
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

I lay on the bed, contemplating which topic to choose for my writing.

As I pondered…

I had an idea — why not write about the existence of our own being, the existence of the universe? I recalled the persistent question that arises in my mind when I gaze at the night sky:

“Why do we exist?” “From where does all this matter and energy come? Did it come from nothing?”

Or more precisely:

“Why is there something rather than nothing?” “Why is there anything at all?”

Perhaps these are among the first questions we ask as we become conscious. I then attempted to answer this question. I posited that we exist because of Earth, Earth because of the solar system, the solar system because of the Milky Way, and so on until it reaches the Big Bang, the beginning of our universe. But, like any scientist, I questioned what caused the Big Bang.

Perhaps something caused the Big Bang. Then what caused that? This line of inquiry led to an infinite regression, prompting me to search for a solution. After some searching, I found the solution that humans discovered very early: GOD. All major religions assert the existence of a being/entity/consciousness that exists without any cause, with its own reason for existence. Okay, but why God? Why not nothing?

Stuck there, I turned to Google and asked, “Why is there something rather than nothing?” I encountered some interesting answers:

  1. The laws of physics and logic exist in a logical sense, not objectively, giving birth to the universe.
  2. There are rich possibilities in nothing that can turn into anything, eventually giving rise to something.
  3. If there is an infinite possibility of worlds to exist, then the probability of all of them existing is zero, and nothing is one of them. There is only one way for something to exist, making its possibility less than nothing.
  4. Some suggest that the total energy of the universe is zero when accounting for the gravity and curvature of the universe. It is like writing 0 or -1 + 1; either way, you get zero (-1+1 = 0).
  5. Or that the laws of quantum mechanics exist before something, allowing for something to be made out of nothing.

But after reading all the answers, I had some questions. Why laws or logic? Why God or consciousness? Why possibility and probability? Why mathematical logic? Why quantum physics? Why anything at all? Why not nothing?

After a bit of pondering on this question, I thought that if, by logic, nothing means no energy, no matter, no mass, not even existence, then how could nothing itself exist? If it exists, it defies its own rule; if it exists, then it becomes something. Maybe for its own existence, it creates something, as there is no meaning of darkness without light; perhaps nothing and something are two faces of the same coin.

After realizing this, it satisfied me for a bit. Then I asked, why even nothing? Why anything at all?

Then I realized that, in fact, this is the question we as a species ask first but get the answer to very last. The universe created us so it can know: WHY IT EXISTS? WHAT IS ITS PURPOSE?

Photo by Simone Secci on Unsplash

comment what you like about my writing and which area i improve on and give suggestion for future articel

--

--

Alex Wanderer
Predict
Writer for

🚀 A man sailing in the vast sea of knowledge, looking for comrades 🌌 Follow to explore the endless horizons of knowledge and perspective