The End is Near for Mobile Apps — Part 2

Lance Ng
Predict
Published in
6 min readNov 15, 2018

--

On October 31, 2018, I published Part 1 of this story that led to 191,000 views and 88,000 reads within two weeks.

While I received a lot of fan mails, I also received some hate mails. One reader even offered to bet me $1,000 on how many native apps there’ll be in 3 years’ time.

The story got shared across Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Flipboard and many other sites and forums, in multiple languages. This spawned many splinter discussion threads on other platforms.

On Medium itself, as at the date of writing there were 100 responses. Many readers gave useful feedback on where my article fell short and inspired new thoughts and direction.

With so many discussion threads in so many places, I decided to write this follow-up piece to summarize the most common questions asked by the readers. They relate to:

  1. Why the clickbait title?
  2. Do push notifications and too many apps really slow the phone down?
  3. Has some of my predictions already came true?
  4. Who in the West are likely to become giant ‘App of apps’?
  5. What does the future hold beyond smartphones?
  6. How should app developers adapt and thrive?

--

--

Lance Ng
Predict

Venture Capital | Startups | Founders. My newsletter at www.3linepitch.com