The Mandela Effect: Fact or Fiction?

Geoff Pilkington
Predict
Published in
10 min readSep 30, 2017

--

“The past is more than a memory.”

~ John Trudell

I’ve never been one for conspiracy theory. But last weekend I came across a new concept being tossed around these days called The Mandela Effect. At first I didn’t want to believe it. But as I kept reading about more examples and proof, it grew on me. Not only that, but after some reading, a few podcasts, a couple google searches and some youtube videos I realized it’s been quite the curious water cooler topic since it’s inception 3 years ago. Having learned all of this, I felt I should bring the topic to a wider audience for discussion. It’s a captivating talking point for Medium because it’s not so much news as it is a compelling phenomenon for us to connect on and try to comprehend.

What is The Mandela Effect?

http://www.history.com/topics/nelson-mandela

The Mandela Effect is a phenomenon created by paranormal consultant and blogger Fiona Broome who coined the term in 2010 just after attending a Dragon Con convention where she came to realize many people there believed that South African President Nelson Mandela died in imprisonment during the 1980’s. The truth is, Mandela actually died in 2013. But this wasn’t…

--

--

Geoff Pilkington
Predict

CEO of Launch Industries, Blogger, Podcast Host, Actor, Filmmaker, Futurist, Tech Enthusiast, Social Media Expert, and Content Creator. Personality Type: ENTP