TECHNOLOGY/ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE/SOCIAL MEDIA

The Rise of AI-Generated Influencers

A surprising and concerning trend

B.R. Shenoy
Predict
Published in
5 min readAug 5, 2023

--

Influencer Social Media Instagram Logo
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

“Welcome to my virtual realm! I am not your ordinary influencer; I am a 19 year old woman residing in Finland, but here’s the twist — I’m an AI-generated virtual influencer. As a fashion model, I bring an unparalleled and futuristic perspective to the realm of style,” writes Sofia’s website.

As a writer and an avid observer of social media trends, I find myself both surprised and saddened by the latest phenomenon that has taken the internet by storm.

It appears that even the influencers we admire and follow might not be who we think they are.

Case in point, Milla Sofia, a blonde bombshell and fashion model with a massive following on platforms like TikTok and Instagram.

However, behind her stunning looks and seemingly glamorous life lies a shocking truth: Milla Sofia isn’t a real person but rather an AI-generated virtual influencer.

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
Predict

Avid Globetrotter• Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•https://brshenoy.substack.com•M.S. Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2