Photo by Josh Calabrese on Unsplash

The Road to All-Day XR Glasses

Where are our consumer lifestyle XR glasses?

Avi Bar-Zeev
Published in
14 min readJul 11, 2022

--

I’ve been working on aspects of XR, the Metaverse, and Spatial Computing for over 30 years, including helping or advising about ten different XR headset projects. I’ve been lucky to contribute to plans early on, most often by proving or disproving requirements and by defining key user experiences, before anyone spends a billion dollars building them. I’ve learned a bit about what works and what falls flat. Sometimes, the right answer is “not yet.”

I will avoid disclosing anything my past employers would still consider proprietary. I’ll link to a few older published patents, where they help teach us something — that is the actual purpose of patents, believe it or not. But they’re more often used by tech pundits as tea leaves for product plans. Alas, they only prove that some R&D happened and that company thought it was worth protecting. I’ll avoid some patents that I think would cause speculation.

Don’t take anything I say as evidence of product plans by any company or even as any criticism of anyone efforts. That’s not my intent at all.

For context, the first true XR experience I ever built was a CAVE, borrowing $250k in computers and giant projectors and spending another $30k on raw materials. Disney’s amazing $100k VR HMD from the 90s never…

--

--

Avi Bar-Zeev
Predict

XR Pioneer (30+ years), started/helped projects at Microsoft (HoloLens), Apple, Amazon, Keyhole (Google Earth), Linden Lab (Second Life), Disney (VR), XR Guild