The Singularity Is “Complicated”

Dr Stuart Woolley
Predict
Published in
7 min readNov 10, 2021

--

And, did H P Lovecraft have an inkling as to how it may come about?

Photo by Merlin Lightpainting from Pexels

Calm Islands of Promise in a Tumultuous Sea

It’s been some time since I dipped my toes into the fascinating endeavour that is the Wolfram Physics Project and its equally captivating core tenet that underlying all of reality is a rapidly rewriting hypergraph, its evolution based on what may be a comparatively simple basic set of rules.

My other pet passion, since I have few interests outside of computing to be honest¹, is my equal and every growing fascination with the idea of a Technological Singularity (henceforth I’ll refer to it as just the Singularity primarily to save my fingers) and how (I feel) its inevitably occurrence will suddenly change practically everything around us².

Let’s weave these two at first disjoint systems together with a pinch of higher dimensions, a large cup full computational complexity, and a generous sprinkling of the Cthulhu Mythos to spice things up a bit.

It’s a bit of a journey, but if you like mathematics and can suspend reality for a short time, you can have as much fun reading as I did writing.

After all, where can you get without imagination and a smile?

From Complexity, Consciousness!

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley
Predict

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.