What Would Happen if a Person Could Live to 200 Years Old?

The quest for immortality has stopping points along the way

Jerome Johnson
Predict

--

Photo by Yuting Gao on Pexels.com

I recently came across an article from Scientific America titled “What if We could Live for a Million Years”. It’s not difficult to intrigue me on something about the possibilities of the future. Sci-fi is one of my favorite genres to read.

The article did not disappoint. It managed to cover topics on how humanity survives overpopulation, some basic environmental issues, and even space travel. Everything a science fiction fan would look for in an article about the future. Although it was a brief read it was entertaining and thought provoking.

It led my own mind to think about what it would be like for a human to live that long. I quickly realized the idea of living a million years is kind of ridiculous. It’s to great of a time period to make any informed guesses about. Instead I’ll put my thoughts on a shorter time period. Let’s say 200 years.

What we know so far

The longest living person that has ever been confirmed was Jeanne Calment from France who died in 1997. She was born in 1875. Imagine all of the things that she lived through.

  • The invention of the light bulb

--

--

Jerome Johnson
Predict
Writer for

Writer focusing on emerging technologies, business, and society at large.