Why Do You Exist?

Discover Reality
Predict
Published in
4 min readOct 23, 2019

Some nights I lay in bed and ponder the reason for my existence.

Am I here to experience as much joy as possible? Happiness is awesome, but once I am dead and gone, what was the point of that happiness? Did it help anyone or did it just make me feel good temporarily?

For some reason, I get the feeling that my reason for existence has nothing to do with me. I watched a video the other day that said hundreds of years from now it is possible that some random person will be having the last ever thought about you. The last trace of your existence in this universe.

Your human self will probably be forgotten. However, the ways that you affected the world could last forever.

The people that discovered electricity and created the first electrically powered items changed the world forever. Their discoveries and creations are everlasting, as you can see from all the technology using electricity around you. Yet, the majority of the Earth’s population would not be able to name five people that helped discover the usefulness of electricity, not without Wikipedia at least…

At first, I came to the conclusion that the reason for my existence is to better the lives of the future generations. I hope for this to become true. However, then I remembered that centuries after their lives, they will be forgotten too.

It is almost as if the progression of the universe itself is what is important. It would make sense. Humans have very short lifespans, but the universe has been around for billions of years and has billions more to go. However, humans are a defining aspect of the universe now.

I commonly hear people talk as if humans are separate from the universe, a disease. I have a friend that used to always say how terrible humans are because they want to destroy nature to progress themselves, such as harnessing the energy of a star to better civilization. What they do not realize is that we are created from exploding stars. The fundamental pieces that make up a rock are exactly what you are made of, except you are aware of it.

We are the universe becoming conscious of itself. Bettering ourselves is bettering the universe. A smarter human race is a smarter universe.

The Butterfly Effect exemplifies the fact that we all affect the world whether we like it or not. We will all probably be forgotten, but the way we affected the universe will pervade space and time forever until the end of the universe.

There is no way to know exactly what the reason for our existence is. We cannot even prove or disprove if we live in a simulation. However, you can easily choose what you want your reason to be. The choices are endless and there does not need to be one single reason.

Personally, my reasons to exist are always changing. One of my consistent reasons to live is that I want to help progress the human knowledge of this reality so that it becomes greater and more refined; then, people can continue asking these deep questions and maybe find answers that my generation could not find. Let me explain this reason a little more…

In my mind, my purpose is to help and progress the universe as a system. Does it need help? No, but I think the most beautiful aspect of this universe is life. Life is the matter of the universe becoming conscious of itself…that is AMAZING. So, we should preserve life as much as possible.

Intelligence seems to be the key that is helping life, so I think the best bet is to try to progress our knowledge. The more we learn, the better chances of survival for the future.

Becoming more knowledgeable will help future generations and systematically progress the universe as a whole.

Maybe there does not need to be a reason to exist and that is just a human concept that keeps us sane. Either way, I am just happy to live in such a mysterious and beautiful universe.

I would love it if reading this sparks a flame in you to help the world in some way; more people with that mindset will most likely lead to a better future for all.

However, the amount that you affect this world is completely up to you. No one chose to be born into this odd reality, so do what you want.

If all of this stresses you out, then just remember…

do not take life too seriously, no one makes it out alive.

Follow Hack The Universe social media:

Twitter, Facebook

Interested in more reads like this? Join the mailing list:

Click here for mobile users to join

--

--