Why I Let AI Decide What I Watch on Netflix Now

Gabe
Predict
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Photo by Mollie Sivaram on Unsplash

Let me tell you about the time I decided to let AI dictate my Netflix viewing habits. Not just any AI, mind you, but the sophisticated algorithm that promised to curate the perfect entertainment experience tailored just for me. I had visions of endless binge-worthy shows and cinematic masterpieces dancing in my head.

So, I surrendered to the algorithmic overlords, trusting that they knew my tastes better than I did myself. I set up the perfect cozy nook on my couch, armed with snacks and a subscription. I was ready to dive into a world of entertainment bliss, guided by the omniscient wisdom of artificial intelligence.

But there’s something nobody tells you about letting AI choose your entertainment. It’s like handing over the remote control to a hyperactive toddler with a penchant for experimental avant-garde films. You end up in a whirlwind of genres and obscure documentaries that make you question your own sanity.

I spent more time scrolling through endless recommendations than actually watching anything substantial. And every time I did settle on something, I’d find myself halfway through a documentary about the history of cheese-making in medieval Europe, wondering how I got there.

My Netflix queue was supposed to be a carefully curated selection of must-watch classics. Instead, it…

--

--

Gabe
Predict

Writer ✍️ programmer 👨‍💻 AI enthusiast 🤖Sharing stories on Medium about writing, coding, and the world of AI. Free eBook 📘 https://rb.gy/90w45