Dealing With Brain Fog

An Unfortunate New Norm

Synthia Stark
Preoccupy Negative Thoughts

--

Brain fog is the lack of clarity that surrounds a person’s thoughts and is surprisingly common in 2021. The thoughts that permeate from brain fog, are for a lack of a better word, fuzzy. They fade in and out of your mind at the worst possible times. Events get conflated with one another since, during a stupor, you totally forgot you had another engagement at the same hour.

The next thing you know, you have multiple events booked all at once, and everyone is mad at you for doing so.

Now, this a circumstance that I’ve seen across many people, particularly with clients at the practicum site. I’m working towards becoming an aspiring therapist, and I sometimes worry that this will happen to me someday.

I don’t claim to have the best memory — I have a dozen checklists and phone reminders to keep myself busy. Without them, I’d probably be lost half the time. However, the more time I spend interacting with people virtually, the more of a brain fog that I see across these individuals with greater intensity.

Not so surprisingly, brain fog is quite the norm these days, even for non-clients, especially as more and more of us are getting mentally and physically exhausted by ongoing world events. The more time we spend away from people, the more likely we are to forget certain…

--

--

Synthia Stark
Preoccupy Negative Thoughts

Canadian Therapist & Former Researcher | 5x Top Writer | Writing about mental health, psychology, science, etc. https://linktr.ee/SynthiaS