ADHD Paralysis Explained

It’s totally a thing, but not really a thing…

Jillian Enright
Preoccupy Negative Thoughts

--

Photo created by author

A day in the life

After seeing my son off to school each morning, I go back to my kitchen for another cup of coffee and consider my to-do list.

Except, not exactly.

I have a physical to-do list written down but I usually forget it exists, so I stand there in the kitchen, coffee in hand, mentally going over an overwhelming list of things I should be doing.

Okay, I tell my brain — just focus. (Yeah, like that ever works).

I remember this one thing, but I seem to remember that there is an Important Thing needing my attention, except I can’t remember what it was…

I can’t start on the thing I do remember, because then I won’t do the Important Thing, except I have no idea what the Important Thing is right now.

Okay, so then I sit. I take a sip, breathe, and have get organized. (Yeah. Right).

Then I remember that I have a list! Oh, thank you, yesterday me for remembering to write this stuff down!

I get to my list. I read the list.

As I sit there, I realize that I don’t want to do any of these things. They’re not Interesting Things. I only want to do Interesting Things.

--

--

Jillian Enright
Preoccupy Negative Thoughts

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.