Is Duolingo a Waste of Time?

Examining the World of Online Language Learning

Synthia Stark
Preoccupy Negative Thoughts

--

Photo by Duolingo on Facebook

You’ve probably landed here because you’re wondering the same thing.

Duolingo, a gamified language learning app, purports to teach you a new language by only using 5 minutes of your time for each day. With over 300 million registered users across 38 languages, it almost sounds too good to be true.

The Ultimate Covid-19 Coping Mechanism?

Personally, I have a 260-day streak on Duolingo. This means I’ve had at least done a minimum of 1 lesson per day, and sometimes more, since the end of December 2019.

After the Covid-19 pandemic slammed everyone in March, I may have done a lot more lessons than usual, spending at least 1 hour per day learning French. It’s turned into a surprisingly adaptive coping mechanism.

My logic is that:

I’ve mastered most of the Duolingo modules in French, with some working knowledge of Italian, Dutch, and some Latin.

I think the app has greatly improved my reading comprehension. As for speaking…

--

--

Synthia Stark
Preoccupy Negative Thoughts

Canadian Therapist & Former Researcher | 5x Top Writer | Writing about mental health, psychology, science, etc. https://linktr.ee/SynthiaS