Enterprising Strengths

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories
Published in
3 min readJan 12, 2017
Nishant Sharma | Ex UPSC Aspurant | CMO and Co-Founder at Clado.in | Delhi

“For people with Muscular Dystrophy, life is not easy. I feel weak a lot of times. I used to study in an open school and would feel the urge to go back to a regular school because quality education is the only thing which will neutralize the barriers in the society. Surprisingly, the Government School Principal declined my admission because the classrooms were not on the ground floor. But my dad is a fighter and did not give up. Eventually, I did go to a proper school.

My dad nudged me to take up a Government job because he thought that would secure my future. Post SRCC, my School Principal suggested me to take up the UPSC exams. I decided to go for it and enrolled in a coaching institute.
While preparing for the exams, I encountered my share of lows when I would not score well in the tests and to add to that, there were a few teachers who used to demotivate me, which of course did not work well for me. Whenever the notes were dictated in the class, not only did I feel like it was a waste of time, but I also couldn’t cope with the speed of dictation. Also, when I saw young and intelligent teachers who were teaching part-time and were also preparing for UPSC, it induced a sense of fear and self-doubt as to how would I be able to crack the exam if they still haven’t. Besides, going to class was a struggle with only 2 centers of my institute having ramps, the whole day used to get wasted in traveling and attending classes. It was definitely not an easy journey.

But there have been good things too. I am way more knowledgeable now. I have become more rational in my approach. After my mom passed away, I started worshipping lesser and lesser. I believe that UPSC has changed my life, even though it was just a backup!
I am a creative person and I always wanted to start something of my own I have always wanted to be an entrepreneur. A friend of mine from SRCC helped me realize this wish by sharing with me his idea of renting out things. Frankly, I am happy as this is what I always wanted to do, run my own set-up.”

Top Tips :
1. Do not go for coaching.
2. Give more time to the optional subjects.
3. UPSC is not a one-year thing, consider it as a UG/PG course and be aware that it might take 3 years (could take a year too) to crack it.

-Nishant Sharma | Ex UPSC Aspurant | CMO & Co-Founder at Clado.in | Delhi

If you like this story, visit Prepathon’s Facebook Page and hit ‘ Like’ to get more such stories in your news feed. https://www.facebook.com/Prepathon/

--

--

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories

Story teller,digging an ounce of perception from a pound of intricacies. The illegitimate love child of the left & right-brain; neither parents admit having me.