Hardwork Pays

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2017

--

Vaibhav Agarwal | AIR 217 | 3rd Year Computer Science | IIT Kharagpur

“In big towns and in most of the prominent coaching institutes, the coaching for all the three subjects (PCM) is provided under one roof. However, in Jhansi, there was no institute that offered that. I had to join 4 coaching classes, for PCM & Computers respectively. Also, I had to ensure that I was among the top students of my city and always on the right track. My entire day was always occupied with coaching classes and regular school,. Everyone told me that self-studies is very important and is the only thing that helps you, but the truth is that I never really found any time for self-studies. I had only the weekends for it. The hectic schedule made me more confident about my preparation, and when I started seeing positive results, I knew I had to keep following the timetable religiously.

I had half expected that I would get a very good rank because until the rank is quantified, one cannot really say. And yes, the behavior of most people changed after that, like my colony people respected me more and they talked to me a bit more freely. It made me feel good and I was happy to reciprocate those feelings.

When I came to IIT, it was my first time living out of home. Back then, I was very homesick. I was not very street-smart. After coming here, things have changed. I met some very good people. First, I used to be a bit shy talking to people I didn’t know but now I can talk to anyone. I also learned to be self-reliant. It also increased my skill-set. I am a better person now.

I have already got an internship with Microsoft. Right now, I don’t aspire to go deeper into this field. I want to get good technical exposure and then maybe start something of my own. I have some good ideas and I am working hard to develop and polish them. Once I get the understanding as to how things work in the industry, I think I will be able to do my own thing better. Right now I am just thinking of getting a good job. After I get a few years of experience, develop my network, and find good partners to start my idea with, I will try setting up something of my own.”

-Vaibhav Agarwal | AIR 217 | 3rd Year CSE| IIT Kharagpur

If you like this story, visit Prepathon’s Facebook Page and hit ‘ Like’ to get more such stories in your news feed. https://www.facebook.com/Prepathon/

--

--

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories

Story teller,digging an ounce of perception from a pound of intricacies. The illegitimate love child of the left & right-brain; neither parents admit having me.