Humility in Success

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2017
Puneet Singh | Mathematic sand Scientific Computing | IIT Kanpur

“ I had two years to prepare for the JEE and trust me they weren’t easy. I was an average student, not really good at Mathematics, and was just focussing on whatever was being taught in school. During the 9th and 10th grade, I was involved more in the extracurricular activities. I started with the preparation in class 11, completely clueless about how to go about it. I think it is not a problem if you start late. There is not really a right time to start the preparation.

Achieving something as a result of your consistent hard work is definitely an amazing feeling. When I got a rank of 2413, I was just relieved that it was over. Owing to the hype about IITs in India, there was definitely a change in the way people treated me. But only I know that things could have easily gone wrong. On the basis of one exam, you cannot conclude that one guy is better than the other. The important thing is to realize that there a lot of paths where you can succeed in life, and cracking JEE is just one of them. There are a lot of people from the IITs who are not doing as well as others might expect. So remember that ultimately there are a lot of other avenues where you can succeed and get what you want in life.

I was a kid when I came into IIT, but now I am a changed guy. Now I am confident enough to take up work or any challenge. I have gone through so many ups and downs that when I entered the corporate world I was much more confident and had improved by leaps and bounds. I was getting attention; a little unfair attention too, but it was good to know that people wanted to listen to me and took me seriously. It helped me to showcase my talent and express myself.”

Top Tips:
1. Be true to yourself because I have seen a lot of people who would read a little of the chapter and say they have covered it all. Remember that quality matters more than quantity, so if you cover three chapters, cover them well, that would help.

2. Do not distribute topics in a time-wise manner. You should focus on understanding the concepts.

3. Never lose hope. You will face many ups and downs, even while preparing or after preparing for the exam. That is something that will happen throughout your life and you need to not back down and be able to come back stronger every time.

-Puneet Singh | Mathematics and Scientific Computing | IIT Kharagpur

If you like this story, visit Prepathon’s Facebook Page and hit ‘ Like’ to get more such stories in your news feed. https://www.facebook.com/Prepathon/

--

--

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories

Story teller,digging an ounce of perception from a pound of intricacies. The illegitimate love child of the left & right-brain; neither parents admit having me.