Musings from the Past

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories
Published in
3 min readJan 12, 2017
Sri Nandhini.A.R | 1st year Software Engg. | VIT

“I always wanted to study Engineering from an IIT because it is the best. Initially, my parents were against the decision of me preparing for JEE, as they were worried that I might not clear it and would feel bad about it. They used to tell me that not everybody manages to get through JEE so, it would be okay if I wanted to drop the plan. However, I was determined that I wanted to prepare for JEE so eventually, even they agreed.

The idea of studying for JEE was interesting, but it was only in class 12 that I realized that in another year I needed to get into a college and something had to be done about it. That is when I started taking it seriously. The transition from class 10 to 11 was very tough. The school syllabus was totally different and with the JEE preparation added to the list, there was a lot to study.
I lost interest in the middle of class 11 because it was all mashed up. I couldn’t understand any concept properly. Most of my classmates were already enrolled in a coaching institute, some of them since the 9th grade, unlike me, who joined only in 11th. So they were somewhat ready for JEE. Honestly, I wasn’t able to prepare properly for JEE as I lost the interest. I did tell my parents about it and they understood. However, I still wanted to do engineering, but IIT was not something that I was interested in.

In retrospect, I do not think that coaching has proved to be helpful for anything outside of the JEE exam. A few topics do repeat in the college curriculum and it is easier for me to understand them. Other than that, I do not think it is helpful anywhere. Frankly, I want to become a writer. I love fiction. I took up engineering as a backup because it can enable me to earn well.”

Top Tips :
1. Enrolling in an integrated coaching setup was a mistake. I should have gone for evening classes because, in integrated courses, they just mash things up. They concentrated more on the JEE prep and less on the board preparation. Also, I think that knowing the basics well was the only thing that would have made a difference. Hence, integrated coaching is not a good option.

2. Even if you are planning to go for coaching, you need to refer to things online, because you will find everything online. It is always better to be in touch with that, through the internet and do your own research. It helps.

3. The sooner you start the better you are going to perform

-Sri Nandhini.A.R | 1st year Software Engg. | VIT

If you like this story, visit Prepathon’s Facebook Page and hit ‘ Like’ to get more such stories in your news feed. https://www.facebook.com/Prepathon/

--

--

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories

Story teller,digging an ounce of perception from a pound of intricacies. The illegitimate love child of the left & right-brain; neither parents admit having me.