Skill Matters

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2017
Keerthana Ravichandran | 1st yr Mechanial Engg. | Velammal Engineering College

“I joined the JEE integrated course in my school which used to finish the CBSE and then the JEE syllabus of a topic. We had several tests too in which the majority of the class used to underperform. Honestly, I was not serious about my preparation and that is why I ended up with such a low score in JEE. I wanted to learn but I didn’t want to study. In fact, I had a keen interest in Science and Mathematics. Knowing about the basic things like atoms or what happens when you multiply two numbers actually encouraged me to give the JEE preparation a shot.

Eventually, I lost the interest mainly because it was too much for me to handle at that stage of my life. I had no idea about how exactly I should have gone about with the preparation. I lacked proper planning and guidance and frankly, I did not even try enough. I did not tell my parents that I wasn’t interested in the JEE preparation anymore, but they kind of understood it from the way I was behaving and from my marks too. I am very grateful to them for how well they understood my situation and gave me the required space.

I agree that my college is no IIT, but I believe in putting in my own efforts now. I do not want the college to define my life because ultimately, personal skills and talent matter. So now I am concentrating on building up the skills and hoping to start something of my own soon.”

Top Tips
1) You should know why you are preparing for the JEE. Passion is important for cracking this kind of exam.
2) You should understand the structure of the exam well and then plan things accordingly.
3) Do not give up, keep motivating yourself. Never compare yourself with others, as that can prove to be depressing and demotivating. Just study for yourself.

— Keerthana Ravichandran | 1st yr Mechanial Engg. | Velammal Engineering College

If you like this story, visit Prepathon’s Facebook Page and hit ‘ Like’ to get more such stories in your news feed. https://www.facebook.com/Prepathon/

--

--

Priyadarsini GP
Prepathon Stories

Story teller,digging an ounce of perception from a pound of intricacies. The illegitimate love child of the left & right-brain; neither parents admit having me.