Wise words of a modern day Hippie

Arav
3 min readJul 30, 2015

--

Nishchal Kesarwani (Preseed’s modern day hippie founder) was asked for his point of view on living a stress free life by his friend Pradhan Thalanki, via a Facebook wall post.

Mindfully read what Nishchal had to say:

My take is in favor of this cycling fellow for most parts for most beings. However, for those who find harmony in the modern busy way of life, there is nothing wrong in it. As long as they feel in harmony with their usual day. I travel far more than most I know and I work for more than most I know. I work from river sides, waterfalls, mountains, every where I go. My work and I are not separate. My travel and I are not separate. My sports and I are also not separate. My work, my sport, my day, my travel and I, are always the same. When I lived in Delhi for my last few years there, neither did I have a house, not a phone, not even a bank account. And none of it interfered with my work. I cycled to all over delhi NCR. It took longer to commute for work, but it added to myself. That which is my work. Myself is not separate from my work. So I don’t think there is a problem in working very hard as long as you are not stressing about it. The fun and the fitness should not be separated from work. E.g. I do my yog asanas, in the middle of my work. Even when I induce myself to a state of meditation upon one thought to become just that one thought, literally, I could be on a thought about design of one of my products say www.myidealist.co. And when that thought is solved. I become nothing, literally. For before that, there was anyway, my existence focused 100% on just that one thing. The moment that went away, I was 0. And then back from 0, to being human again. But since back from 0, the vibratory atoms I come back to, is something fresh again. Not something that was vibrating me. I (my mental faculty, my intellect and ego) was not even vibrating a moment ago. So vibes of outside did not govern me in that moment, till I fell in their harmony, after which I was those vibes, so they didn’t govern me again. So working, thinking and all that is not a bad idea at all. Each day, day in day out. But for those who are getting stressed, working, marrying, family and all that is a bad idea. They should just start living in less that Rs. 250 a day, somewhere far away with the animals and trees. That is all we need while we need. Then we stop needing Pradhan Thalanki. In short, Karm is yog, Karm is also meditation, when one with it. So how can that take away from our youthfulness. How does it make us stop going to the park every day? Or buying cars and hoarding goods. It is the wrong done by the educational system, societies standards of success and corporations. Without this wrong, life doesn’t have it in it to give stress. As long as their is food. And the land can produce a lot of food, so much that it can be free. But that is another topic which we may touch upon another day. I can be him and a hard working geek, all at the same time. So can everyone.”

Start a conversation with Nishchal:

https://www.facebook.com/Pradhan.T/posts/10152898040150810?pnref=story

Source of article:

http://www.businessinsider.in/35-year-old-American-who-thinks-modern-life-is-too-stressful-works-6-months-a-year-then-lives-on-10-a-day-adventuring-around-the-world-on-a-bicycle/articleshow/48209733.cms

--

--