Contoh Skrip Presentasi Inspiratif Bahasa Inggris

Judul: “I Learned It the Hard Way”

Surja Wahjudianto
PresentasiKu
4 min readMar 8, 2021

--

Image by victoraf from Pixabay
Image by victoraf from Pixabay

Sedang mencari contoh skrip presentasi bahasa Inggris yang inspiratif? Berikut saya berikan contohnya.

Kebetulan baru-baru ini saya mengikuti kontes public speaking di Toastmasters dan skrip ini saya pakai. Saya mengikuti di tingkat Club dan Area. Syukur alhamdulillah, saya dinyatakan sebagai juara pertama di kedua tingkat itu.

Dengan kemenangan ini, saya berhak maju ke tingkat selanjutnya yaitu di Divison. Sampai artikel ini saya tulis, kontes di tingkat Division belum berlangsung karena masih akan dilaksanakan bulan depan (18 April 2021).

Kalau Anda ingin melihat versi videonya, silakan klik link di bawah ini.

Contoh presentasi inspiratif bahasa Inggris.

Sedangkan contoh skripnya adalah berikut ini.

I Learned It the Hard Way

Have you ever stood in a long line at the ticket counter? How did you feel?

Ladies and gentlemen…

It was a hot day and I was standing in line at the ticket counter in Gubeng train station Surabaya. At that time the station was so crowded and the lines at the ticket counters were so long.

When I arrived there and took position behind one of the lines, there were already about 15 people ahead of me and many others came following behind me. You can imagine, standing in line behind three people at a supermarket was already boring and tiring, let alone standing behind 15 people. Worse, the pace was so slow that even snails could move faster than that.

After several minutes, I realized that the person ahead of me was a young man who looked so unfriendly. From the way he stood, the way he moved, and the way he looked, I knew he was unfriendly, rude, and arrogant. And when he picked up the phone, the way he talked confirmed my judgment about his attitude.

The more I looked at him, the more I hated him. What’s so fun about standing in line on a hot day behind a rude young man like that? I’d rather stand in line on a hot day behind a hot young woman. Right?

As I was dealing with this resentment, I started to notice that everyone in the line had a piece of paper. The people ahead of me and the people behind me all had a piece of paper. I was the only one in the line who didn’t have a piece of paper. I started to panic.

So I asked someone behind me what the paper was. And the lady said it was a form.

Before I asked another question, a voice chimed in, “Yes, sir, it’s a form that we need to fill out before we get the tickets.” That was the voice of the young man who I hated. “And you can get the form at that counter over there,” he added by pointing at a counter far behind the line.

I panicked even more. I said to myself, “If I go to that counter, it means I have to leave this spot where I’m standing. And when I leave the spot, I’ll have to start all over again from behind.”

Understanding my worries the young man told me, “Don’t worry, sir. You just go and get the form and I will secure your spot. When you’re done, you can come back here again.”

How nice and helpful. And he said it softly and nicely. I was stunned for a moment.

Then I rushed to the counter, got the form, and returned to the spot. My problem was solved and I was relieved.

Now the hardest part was to thank him for his favor. Because I felt guilty for misjudging him, I thanked him with a forced smile. And he acknowledged my appreciation with a sincere smile.

I was embarrassed. The young man who I thought to be rude and arrogant turned out to be nice and helpful. The way he responded when he knew that I was in trouble, the softness in the way he spoke to me, and the sincerety in the way he smiled all showed that he was a truly kind young man, contrary to my previous judgment.

That reminded me about how I often judged people based on their appearance, on how they look, instead of their true character.

I’m sure that young man didn’t even know that once I hated him so much. He may have forgotten that once he helped me solve my problem and saved my day.

But I am the one who will always remember his help, his kindness, and more importantly, the lesson that he taught me. The lesson that I learned the hard way. And the lesson is… don’t judge a book by its cover.

Join my email list with other people for more helpful insights.

--

--

Surja Wahjudianto
PresentasiKu

Shares content related to English learning, public speaking, and personal stories only for YOU.