What topic to write on as your first article?

Writing your/my first article online

Is there an easy way to do it?

Tanmay Dev
Press Comma for a pause

--

We have all seen people earning thousands through their blogs online and thought that we can do it too. It seems pretty easy. All you got to do is write article after article, day after day and publish them on different mediums and then reap the fruit of that labor.

Although we all know that producing articles at that rate is itself a superhuman task, still, producing an article a week also seems good enough to cash in that writing/blogging cheque.

But if you are anyone like me, you probably have a lot of topics to think and write about but are just unable to decide on one. I have asked myself the same question time after time, ‘ should I write about books? ’, ‘ should I write about video games? ’, ‘ should I write about movies and music ’ or ‘ should I write about productivity? ’

“What do I even write about!!? (/_\)”

This was the most concerning question for me for the longest time and I will be honest with you, I still have no idea. (._. ‘)

All the problems that I have read about, like putting your knowledge into words , finding the tone of the article, writer’s block, self doubt, insecurities about how my article will be treated, these problems I don't face because I have not even thought of the topic to write on. More like, I cannot face them till I start writing an article on a certain topic.

But, Now, I think I have solved this problem :D

It has taken me almost an year to solve this problem. Exactly one year ago, I launched my own blogging website. I worked on the UX and UI of the website tirelessly for a week. I made an about me page, what the site is about, what my aim is to achieve with the website. I even put one of my articles that I had written about in the past and published it and then I waited for inspiration to come with the blank canvas was ready and oiled, paints at my dispense, palette and brushes in front of me (metaphorically speaking).

An inspiration to guide me towards the topic that would consume me to write vigorously about……‘something’.

Still haven't found it (._. ‘). It just never came. And then it became a forgotten idea.

Is it just me or somebody else also has gone through this?

So now, after a year, I realized, waiting for inspiration to come is like waiting for the fruits of the seed that you have just planted. It will come but it will take a lot of time. Most of the inspiration comes from looking for it.

But there is a difference between last year and this year. I am wiser \(^.^)/, at least that’s what I think. And now I decided it is either make or break to start writing. And I came up with a solution to break this imaginary wall of thinking about the topic to write about.

I will write about writing my first article online. Kind of a paradox, isn't it? (>.<)

On the surface, the idea seems pretty cringy or even not worth it. But it does three things.

  1. After writing the article on this topic, you are officially in. You have put on the writing hat and are now writing an article. That’s a great step to take!
  2. This is actually a pretty easy topic to write about, since you are writing about a journey you are just about to start. And this gives you the inspiration to write more.
  3. You can finally face those writer problems and think of ways to deal with it and voila, you have more content to write about.

The moment that I decided that I will write an article on this topic, I will not lie, I felt I had a breakthrough about writing and was able to generate more topics to write on.

Stay connected to follow through this journey and understand for yourself if it is a good way to generate content and in turn some money.

--

--