How To Email Like A Boss? Explained in Fewer than 140 Characters

Knowlab
PRODUCTIVITY
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2022

Tiny Tips to Enhance your Email writing skills

Sending formal emails can be a cumbersome task because you have to use the right words otherwise, you would be considered unprofessional and unserious.

Here are few tips to help you use the right words for your emails.

Took a while but you can deal

❌ Sorry for the delay

✅ Thanks for your patience

I know what I’m doing

❌ I think maybe we should…

✅ It’d be best if we…

Where the heck are we on this

❌ Just wanted to check-in

✅ When can I expect an update

My schedule matters to

❌ What works best for you?

✅ Could you do…?

Working this is hard

❌ Rewriting email for 40 minutes

✅ It’d be easier to discuss in person

I made a small error

❌ Ahh sorry my bad totally missed that

✅ Thanks for letting me know

Yeah, you are welcome

❌ No Problem/No worries

✅ Always happy to help

Do you get it?

❌ Hopefully that makes sense?

✅ Let me know if you have questions

I have an appointment

❌ Could I possibly leave early

✅ I will need to leave for at

POLITE EMAIL PLEASANTRIES

❌ sorry for the delay

✅ thank you for your patience

❌ Awe sorry, my bad totally missed that

✅ Nice catch! I modified the file accordingly. Thank you for letting me know.

❌ No problem / No worries

✅ Always happy to help

❌ Hopefully that makes sense

✅ Let me know if you have any questions

❌ Sorry to bother you

✅ I am writing to you about

  • our last meeting..
  • to follow up on …

✅ Might I take a moment of your time to… (very formal)

❌ Sorry to bother you

✅ I am writing to you about

~Godspeed

Think, Explore & Learn. Exploration is the key to Knowledge and Wisdom. Explore and gain Knowledge through ViKnow George. Follow and Explore.

--

--