Dear Incoming Freshmen

Crystal Chavez Barragan
Pridesource Today
Published in
5 min readJun 5, 2019

This school scared me. Well, scared isn’t the right tense for it, I guess. Let’s try that again. This school scares me. I don’t think I’ll ever really get used to high school. I guess I’m supposed to be making you less nervous right now, but then I’d be lying to both of us. The only thing I think I can tell you is that it gets better. You will get braver.

Whoop.

I mean, the first few weeks of school and all throughout summer school (which is three weeks btw), I was too scared to get lunch in the cafeteria. I wouldn’t even go near that place. I actually had trouble going up to the librarian to check out a book and I had quite a few late ones because I was too scared to turn them back in once I did. But eventually, I got it done. I turned in the books and I got into that lunch line. It took me a while to build up the courage to do it, but I did. Please don’t be afraid to take those steps, as big as they are. If you’re scared, know that it took me ten minutes to work myself up enough to go ask my math teacher for help. You’ll probably never be more pathetic than I am. They’re not going to bite you, you know. Anyways, you’re in high school! Take a leap of faith and join mathletes or something (totally not a shameless promo). Don’t be afraid to try something new.

Make sure you have enough time for your classes too on top of those clubs, because those classes matter. I know you might feel like slacking because it’s just freshman year, but don’t. It’ll come back to bite you. Very painfully, might I add. Also, don’t let things pile up. Trust me, you’re going to regret leaving all that work for the last minute. The way I see it, the more you procrastinate, the more unhappy you’re going to be in the future. If you have time, do it. Save yourself the tears, please.

I guess the “friend thing” everybody else talks about didn’t really happen to me. I mean, sure some friends left, but people leave all the time. It’s just the way life works. The people you care about will move on to other things — good and, sometimes, bad. I accepted that, and in order to be happy, I think you should try to accept that too.

Oh and, by the way, don’t change yourself for other people. You just be you, okay? If you like Minecraft, you like Minecraft. I actually listen to the soundtrack from the Beta version, I love it so much (C418’s music is beautiful and no-one can tell me otherwise). If you have some sort of Harry Potter obsession, flaunt it. I brought a wand to school whenever I was nervous about a presentation or something. If you love something don’t be afraid to love it, no matter how many eyes are on you.

Try to be a pretty decent person too. You don’t have to be a total Hufflepuff (sorry if these references are going completely over your head, I have to make them), just don’t be Draco Malfoy on a bad day. Accept people for who they are and be kind. Even if you don’t necessarily agree with them, respect them and their decisions (unless they’re the ones being Draco, then you have permission to turn them into a ferret). If you see something going on, or if something’s happening to you, make sure to tell a teacher. Movies may tell you that they won’t help, but I don’t think High School Musical is a credible source.

Your teachers care about you (even if they do force you to do presentations sometimes). Never forget that there are people that you can talk to if you’re going through a bad time. They will try to understand and they will help you work it out. Sure, Mr. Tilton may be a bit harsh sometimes, but he means well (when he tells you to read, read). I promise Mrs. Coffey is as sweet at the Diet Coke she drinks (don’t miss a day in her class, I swear). If you need help, get it. You’re never alone (there are people in every dark nook and cranny of this school). Remember that.

Another thing I really, really want you to remember? Keep yourself happy. If something is dragging you down in life, let it go. It’s okay to do that, you know. If you need a break, take it. Don’t overwork yourself. I know a lot about that. If, for some reason, you find yourself overworked and a bit miserable, take a moment. When you’re home up late doing some essay you totally forgot about, stop yourself for five minutes and reorganize. Listen to your favorite song and calm yourself down if you’re stressed by going over what you need to do and what can wait. You’ll rebuild and get through it, whatever it is. These hard times will pass and the sun will, eventually, rise again. (God, I’m so cheesy.)

Now, I don’t really have anything else to say. I don’t even know if you’re going to need this info. Maybe you’re already set to be the next valedictorian this school has. Maybe you’re already one hell of a Gryffindor. I don’t know. This is just what I would’ve liked to hear at the beginning. Even if it didn’t really change anything, even if I was still as awkward as ever after reading this, I would’ve liked to know that someone was intimidated by the librarians too. Don’t get me wrong, they still make me a bit nervous, but I think that’s okay. You and I might not be Harry Potter yet, but we’re Nevile Longbottom and we’re on our way.

Sincerely,

Crystal

That’s a pretty okay picture if I do say so myself. Photography LV: 1000.

--

--