Eastside Students Share Their Good Luck Charms

Maleah Smith
Pridesource Today
Published in
3 min readMar 11, 2019

It’s March, and that means you’ll start to see the color green everywhere. Green is often worn on St. Patrick’s Day to either celebrate Irish culture, avoid pinching fingers, or just as a sign of good luck. And since spring is near, people will begin to search for four-leaf clovers for good luck.

What’s the recurring theme here?

Luck.

Four-leaf clovers aren’t the only lucky charms out there, though. In fact, there are a ton of good luck rituals and charms out there that people use for important events, or even just for everyday situations. We decided to reach out to some Eastside students to see what they use for good luck.

Jewelry seems to be the most common lucky charms, most likely due to its portability.

Eastside junior B’Elanna Garcia is one of the Lions who wears jewelry for good luck. “I have this necklace my mom gave me,” she says. “I wear it whenever I’m feeling sad or nervous.”

“My lucky charms are jewelry that my friends and family have given to me,” says Jay Coleman, a freshman. “I have a left hand full of rings that I never take off because they hold such large value in my heart.”

Even seniors are getting on the lucky jewelry trend. “I used to wear a jade bracelet my mom got me because it protects you from evil and brings good luck,” says senior Ja’Lynn Simon. “I had incidents that would’ve been bad but I had the jade on, so it wasn’t. For example, when I got blood on my sheets, usually, blood doesn’t get out of clothes that easy — or at all. But I managed to get it out.”

Eastside freshman Giselle Espinoza has a bracelet as her lucky charm as well. “I’ve had it since I was 5,” she says. “I always have it on and never take it off. When I get stressed or need luck for something important, I just play with it and remember who gave it to me.”

But it’s not only jewelry. Sophomore Exiqio Estrada has a different kind of lucky charm.

“It’s a blue stone,” he explains, “I always carry it in my backpack to help me throughout the day. At times I’ll take it out and mess with it. I found the stone in my garage in a box. Ever since I laid my hands on it, it’s become my lucky rock.”

And junior John Fralick carries a photograph. “My good luck charm is a picture of my grandpa,” he says. “It makes me feel like he is always watching over me.”

Other students use rituals for luck, instead of objects.

“Whenever I talk about something that I don’t want to happen, I usually knock on wood right after,” says Aevan Rena, a senior.

Eastside freshman Vanessa Burrage says she prays for good luck. “Although praying isn’t looked as a ‘ritual,’ I believe it helps me,” she says. “Even if I’m not religious, I feel like once I do something wrong, I can pray to God and get protection and help.”

Do you have any lucky charms or rituals? Share them with us in the comments below.

--

--

Maleah Smith
Pridesource Today

Maleah Smith, a quiet nerd from Lancaster, CA. Loves math. Also couldn't afford that giant teddy bear.