Lion Spotlight: Mr. Tilton

Ashley Madrigal
Pridesource Today
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2018

Mr. Tilton is an English teacher at Eastside High School. This is his sixth year teaching here. Mr. Tilton teaches one Creative Writing class and five freshmen English classes. When he started working as a teacher, he was twenty-three years old. Before entering the classroom, he worked at Red Lobster.

“He’s a good, supporting teacher,” says Estevan Martinez, one of Mr. Tilton’s students. “He is always supporting his students.”

Not only is Mr. Tilton supportive, he’s also funny and is always there when his students need someone to talk to. He genuinely cares about his students and how they are doing. If a student is feeling down, he is always there to uplift them, no matter what the reason.

“Mr. Tilton is always helping his students for whatever they need,” says sophomore Samantha Valencia. “Even when I was going through a rough time, he made me feel like I could go to him for anything. He is trustworthy.”

Melanie Cruz, another student of his, agrees. “Mr. Tilton is not just a teacher to me,” she says. “He’s more like a friend. His class is my favorite. I can be myself in there and open up to him comfortably. He’s not just an average teacher. He makes sure you’re okay and always has a way to brighten up your day.”

--

--