Lion Spotlight: Joseph Torres

Luna Karina
Pridesource Today
Published in
1 min readAug 30, 2018

Eastside High School freshman Joseph Torres is a second-generation immigrant. His father, Jose, immigrated from Guadalajara, Mexico to the United States in April of 1982. Jose was only eighteen years old at the time.

“He wanted a better opportunity for himself and to help his mother and younger siblings,” says Joseph.

“I would walk carrying a backpack with water, bread, and bananas,” says Jose. “I would hitchhike and walk my way until I got to California. It took me at least four days.”

Once Jose settled in California, he got a job doing auto body repairs. “It was something I always enjoyed doing,” he says. “I still have that job till this day and I am able to provide for ten kids and a two-story home.”

Jose came a long way to get where he is today. “In 1988, I earned my green card and became a permanent resident,” he proudly says.

Joseph is proud of his father as well. “I think my father is very brave for leaving his family behind and going out of his way to work hard just to help provide for his family. He was able to help his family, but also, later on, create a family of his own.”

--

--