Lion Spotlight: Ms. Zimmerman

Meagan Coffey
Pridesource Today
Published in
1 min readFeb 1, 2019

Ms. Zimmerman is an English teacher here at Eastside. She teaches freshmen and senior English classes. This is her sixth year teaching. Students admire her not just for her teaching, but also for the way she cares about them. She knows how to motivate and inspire her students.

So what motivates her?

“I am motivated by the students,” she says. “They are going through things that are unimaginable, but they are still here. They come every day and are willing to do the work. Those kids make me wants to be a better person.”

Ms. Zimmerman’s father was a teacher, and he helped her discover her passion for education. “I grew up wanting to be like him. I got to see him in action, and it’s in the family,” she reminisced.

Not all of her childhood memories are so sweet. “My teenage years were really rough,” she says. “I didn’t have anyone to support me, so I am here to be that support for others.”

Senior Valery Munguia can feel that support. “I like her because she’s so sweet and you can tell she cares about her students,” Valery says. “If you have a problem you can go to her, and she will make you feel comfortable.”

--

--