My Secret

Tanya Wright
Pridesource Today
Published in
3 min readFeb 28, 2019

The blood was everywhere. Red. Sticky. And everywhere. I’d never seen blood like that before, and I didn’t know what to do.

Everything just happened so quickly. I picked up the knife. And after that? Everything just went blank. I blacked out.

A small part of me thinks I should feel bad, but I don’t. In fact, I feel like I fulfilled a craving I’ve had for a very long time.

I stood there staring at her as she lay on the cold floor. The blood gushed out, and I couldn’t help but smile.

I smiled because my darkest dreams had come true. But just as I was about to put her body in a trash bag, there was someone at my door.

BANG BANG BANG.

Of course I panicked. My first thought was it was the police. I took my bloody gloves off and went to open the door, as casually as I could.

Before I even got the chance to open it all the way, Harley barges in. Good thing I decided to do it in the bathroom. Otherwise, my sister would have caught me red-handed. Literally.

She has a shocked look on her face. “OMG!” she says. “Why are you bleeding?’’

Because I killed the women that decided to ruin your marriage.

I didn’t say that, of course. What I said was, “Oh just a bad bloody nose. You know I get those all the time.”

She looked at me and laughed. “Damn. Looks like you killed someone.”

Did she know what I’d done?

But then she kept talking. “Okay,” she said. “The real question is why are you home on your birthday?”

My birthday was really the last thing on my mind. All I could think was that I hoped my sister didn’t have to use the bathroom.

She smiles. “Gotta use the bathroom really quick, and then we can head out.”

Just my luck.

She begins to walk toward the bathroom, and my heart begins to beat faster than ever. I have never been so nervous. I ran past her and blocked the door.

“I need to use the restroom,” Harley said again, obviously confused.

I stutter. I always stutter when I get nervous. But I stayed in front of the door.

“You — you — you can’t go in there,” I said.

She knew I was hiding something. “Why are you being such a weirdo?” she asked. “Just let me use the bathroom.”

But I didn’t move.

Then she started to laugh.

“Oh, I know what’s going on here,” she said.

Did she? I hoped not.

She winks at me. “You have a special someone over, don’t you?” she asked.

“Yes,” I said. “Yes, I do.”

In a way, it’s true.

Her eyes get big. Then she lowers her voice to whisper. “Well I’ll leave you to it,” she said. “Call me later.”

I followed her to the door, locking it as soon as she had gone. Top and bottom.

I still had to decide what to do with the body. And the bloody towels.

I walked back into the bathroom and lifted her into the bathtub. I figured that would keep the blood off the carpet.

--

--