Taking Home The Win

Jasmine Reyes
Pridesource Today
Published in
2 min readNov 10, 2019
Eastside’s Varsity Football Team

Just last Friday, November 1st, Eastsides’ very own football team faced off against the Eagles from Lancaster. Not only was this the last game of the football season, it was also senior night.

The night was special from the start. Fans only had to wait a few minutes for the first touchdown. And that touchdown? It wasn’t made by Lancaster, but by our very own Lions.

The football team here hasn’t given fans a lot to cheer about this season, but fans went wild for that first touchdown. Despite the freezing cold temperatures and our lengthy losing streak, many students and staff members came out to cheer on and support our players. But they weren’t expecting much. In fact, according to a recent poll, 83% of students surveyed expected the Lions to lose.

But that didn’t stop the team from giving their fans plenty more to cheer about as the night continued. When the game finally ended, the Lions had scored 48 points. The Lancaster Eagles had scored only eight. Eastside’s losing streak was over!

Edward Sosa, a senior on the football team, had a great night. “I was nervous all day, but I was also excited to be playing my last high school game. I just wanted to step out on the field and give it my all,” he tells us. “After the game though, I was proud of not just myself but of the entire team. I played good, we played good, and the win was brought home to Eastside; that’s what it’s all about.”

Akaccia Wagnor, a sophomore here at Eastside, was at the game the entire night. “I was honestly shocked,” she says. “They played great; teamwork was great; communication was great. Overall, I’m just proud of the boys. It was a blowout win.”

It looks as if our Lions finally put the Eagles back into their nest.

Photo credit: Akaccia Wagnor

--

--