White Decaying Orchids: A Short Story

Monte Brown
Pridesource Today
Published in
15 min readFeb 19, 2019

1949

War is the birth of destruction. Cities become debris and rubble. People become dismembered and fly away into ashes. There is nothing I personally find beautiful in war destruction. But, this afternoon I did.

“Marlo, I need you to go pick up fresh milk from Daryl,” mom said.

I finished putting on my boots and looked at mom, who was using a cheesecloth to drain the liquid inside of the mozzarella.

“Daryl said not to send me over there for milk because I let the cows out last time,” I said.

“Yes, you did. But, you did it on purpose.” Mom drained the cheese water in a metal bucket. “Look, you need to start helping me out around here.”

“Well isn’t that your job, mom?” I asked. “You know…considering you’re a w-woman — ”

“Don’t talk like that in this household, Marlo! I will not tolerate such disobedience. You know better!” mom shouted. “Your father would have expected better from you. Like, don’t you think I am trying? Don’t you think people judge our household already? Do you think it is easy for a single mother to take care of her children without a man in the house? I don’t know about you, Marlo, but our lifestyle is looked down upon here in Orchyme.”

“Well, it shouldn’t because I am a man!” I said.

“Acting the way you do does not make you a man, but a boy. Now go to Daryl’s and pick up the milk that he so gracefully provides to us. Now, Marlo.” mom glared.

I rolled my eyes and grabbed my camera. I head straight out the door onto the road and started walking. Mom is a widower. Dad died last month from the Lake Salt War against the Birubians. Mom has been going through a lot. All I try to do is empathize with her and understand what she is going through, but all she does is latch out at me. I can’t blame her, though. My little sister does not understand much about what mom has to go through. She is only six and I am seventeen. So, clearly, I am aware of how this world works. But, ever since dad died, I have had no energy or motivation anymore. He kept me going. It was as if a bigger piece of me just left when he did.

Photography is my passion. When I visit Daryl’s ranch, that is all I do. Pictures. Pictures. Pictures. They do take a while to process, but every patient minute is worth it. People would judge me for my photographic interests. They thought it would get me nowhere. People still degrade my goals and interests to this day. Mom and I don’t have it easy. This is a weird town that thinks differently from others, but maybe that is why we like it here. Besides the criticism, people here are realistic and open-minded. Besides just criticizing my interests, they try to provide me with different ones without leaving me contemplating new hobbies. With my mom, the women in our neighborhood tried providing her connections to other men that they knew. People here are judgemental but helpful. They do not gossip like many cities here in Montana do.

“Hey, Daryl,” I awkwardly greeted.

Daryl was tending his hens beyond the stables, “Tryna free my cattle again?”

“That’s putting mildly,” I stammered.

“Huh, son?” Daryl questioned.

“Nothing. Mom just needs more milk,” I say.

“And you know where it is, boy,” Daryl says. “Fetch to it.”

I left Daryl and walked onto the grass field over the fence to meet up with the cows. I grabbed the bucket full of warm milk next to the fence and left.

“That’s it,” I focused the camera on the blue butterfly that landed on a boulder. “Don’t fly away.”

I snapped the picture and it flew away. I watched it as it flew into the distance in Nevula. Nevula is a big town next to Orchyme. The Birubians bombed this city about two days ago. Mom told me not to come near here as it was irradiated. The firemen took out the fires and saved as much as they can. It’ll just take a couple of months for the radiation to die down.

I began following the butterfly out of curiosity. It is beautiful and rare in Orchyme. Maybe I can get much more shots than the one I have currently.

The butterfly landed on a mailbox that has been untouched. A house behind it was partly damaged but still alive. I began to walk on the lawn of the house and head inside. The floors began to creak and the smell of charcoal invaded the area. Maybe there might be something nice here.

I explored the kitchen. The towels and rugs look untouched, but a little singed at the edges. The windows are broken at the front of the house while the ones in the back are burned with black ash from the outside. The walls look like they are peeling and the fabric sofas were hardened and slightly broke off, like expired paint when used. I picked up a glass cup that still had the lipstick mark on the rim of the glass.

“Please don’t touch anything-”

“What the — ” I dropped the glass and it broke on the marble floor.

A little girl, probably 15 or so, was standing down a hall with widened eyes, narrowed directly at the kitchen.

“This is my house. Why are you here?” she asked, calmly.

“You live here? After everything that happened here…why are you still here? Where are your parents?” I asked.

“They’re dead. They’re dead just like everyone else,” she said.

“You shouldn’t be here. You have to come with me,” I said. “How did the firemen not find you here-”

I was interrupted by the sound of faint rumbling. The thought didn’t occur to me straight away, but I noticed that it was coming from her stomach. She’s starving.

“Hey, you’re hungry. My mom and I have a purple cabbage farm at our place down in Orchyme. Maybe I can take you there.”

The little girl looked down at the broken glass, then back at me, “Who’ll watch the house?”

“I’m sorry, lil’ girl, but your home doesn’t seem like it need much watching anymore,” I said. “But, you have to come with me. With a small soul like yours, you won’t make it quite long.”

The little girl hesitated and then nodded, “Okay. But, I need to come back.”

I nodded, “Got it. Come on.”

I picked up the bucket of warm milk and stepped out of the house. It took the girl about fifteen minutes or so to come out of the house. Then, we started heading back to my house.

“The bombing happened just a couple of days ago. How is your stomach already rumbling? Clearly, you should still have enough food in the house,” I commented.

“We’re poor. We don’t have enough food than you probably have. Most of the things in the house are spices anyway. Not edible on its own. Poppa goes to the food market every day. Momma likes her things fresh, so we get it and then eat it on the same day it was bought,” she explained.

“A man does the shopping in your household?” I asked.

“Is there a problem with that?” she glared at me.

“No. It is just…abnormal,” I said.

“Well, strange boys lurking with a camera and entering into people’s homes is abnormal, but I chose to keep my thoughts to myself until now,” she snapped back.

“All right. All right,” I said. “How old are you, anyway?”

“How old are you?” she asked.

“I asked you first,” he said.

“Didn’t anyone ever tell you that asking a girl for her age is inappropriate and disrespectful?” she said.

“True point there,” I said. “But, I’m seventeen, by the way.”

“Sixteen,” she said.

“Do you…go to school?” I asked.

“My mother schools me at home. She taught me how to be the girl that I am today. She told me to never sit still and look pretty, but to stand tall and think bright.”

“That’s a stupid saying,” I said.

“Depends on how you look at it,” she said.

She is extremely nonchalant and calm. Her words slide through her tongue and reveal tranquility in her. Nothing seems to bother her. She is independent. I’ll be honest, I am a little jealous of how unbothered she is with everything.

“I’m Marlo,” I introduced. “What’s your name?”

“Beth,” she said.

Nice to meet you, Beth,” I said.

“Delighted.”

Beth and I walked to Daryl’s ranch on our way to my house. The ranch seemed empty. I was going to go ask Daryl for some food before we can get any at my place. Beth and I wandered around the ranch into the fields with the cattle, horses, and sheep.

“Wowsers. He got a pony?” she questioned in excitement.

“That’s a horse there. Peggy,” I said. “Ain’t she purty?”

“I’ll say,” she hopped over the fence. “Can we ride her?”

“Uh…sure.”

“What? You never rode one before?” she asked.

It is not that I’ve never ridden a horse before, it is that I have never done anything at all with a girl. I do not talk nor connect with any girls.

“I have,” I hopped the fence and head towards Peggy.

Beth began to climb onto Peggy, but I quickly stopped her. I softly grabbed her hand and placed it onto Peggy’s side and gestured my hand above hers, petting Peggy.

“You gotta connect with the gal. Don’t try catching her by surprise. Be gentle,” I said, petting the horse with Beth’s hand.

“Wow,” Beth’s eyes twinkled.

“Amazing, isn’t it?”

I climbed onto Peggy and held out a hand for Beth to climb up with. She climbed up and she couldn’t stop smiling.

“This is amazing!” she said.

“How? We haven’t even started riding,” I said.

We were both happy. It was pretty exciting for both of us as we have never rid a horse with someone before. It was like a date. I was actually enjoying myself for once.

“Let’s go into the city,” Beth broke the silence as we were sitting down on the grass.

“Orchyme?” I asked.

“Well, yeah. We’re here anyway. So, why not show me around?” she said.

“Uh…sure,” I said.

I grabbed a white orchid that rested next to my leg, “Here.”

Beth achieved the orchid, “Thank you.”

“Of course,” I smiled.

“So…know any places around here?” she asked.

“Clearly. I do live here,” I said. “There is this bar on Anchorage Row. The music there is amazing. You’d love it there.”

“Will I?”

“We’ll be gyrating all around the dance floor to Johnny Mercer and The Pied Pipers-”

“The pied who?” Beth asked.

“What? You don’t know Johnny Mercer and The Pied Pipers!”

Beth nodded.

“Bing Crosby? Danny Kaye? Cab Calloway?”

Beth nodded. She knows nothing about the classics.

“Well, you’ll find out today,” I said and grabbed her arm and started jogging away from the ranch.

Music from the bar welcomes us as I opened the door. The men in the bar were looking at me in disapproval, not at Beth. I ignored their stares. We both head to the dance floor away from the bar. The music was so loud that we couldn’t even hear each other. I held her hand and we began dancing.

“Who sings this song?” she asked as I twirled her.

“Frank Sinatra,” I said loudly for her to hear me.

We were laughing and twirling each other and gyrating everywhere. It was amazing. I’ve never felt like this before. Our moves were fast, breathtaking, and rhythmic. She held my hand and I held hers. Our feet pivoted, crossed and kicked across the floor. It’s the most fun both of us has ever had. I can tell.

“Okay. Okay,” Beth smiled. “Enough dancing for now.”

“Right,” I said. “Crud! I should be taking you to my house so you can get fed.”

“It’s fine. I’m used to the hunger,” she said. “Let’s explore more.”

“You need to eat-”

“Ey, boy!” A man called from afar in the bar.

I looked at his direction, “Yessir?”

“You okay?” the man asked. “You actin’ a lil’ funny.”

“I’m fine. Why ask-”

“Let’s go! Please. I don’t feel safe here with these guys!” Beth broke out of nowhere.

“What? What are you talking about?” I asked.

“Let’s go!” she said, angrily.

I got up and followed her and shrugged at the men at the table.

Beth was next to a lampost breathing heavily out of anger and fear.

“What the heck happened in there?” I asked.

“I just didn’t feel safe in there. How the guys were looking at me. I got scared,” Beth said.

“W-What? What are you even talking about, Beth? No one was looking at you, but at me,” I said.

“How would you even know!” she turned back at me. “You were talking to that man while his pals behind him were observing me! Don’t tell me I was mistaken!”

I rose my hands up in dismay, “Okay. Okay. I am sorry. I believe you.”

She slowly began to smile, “Great. Let’s go! Is there a carousel here? I would love to ride one! Never had.”

“Beth, I should really be heading home now. Mom can wrap you up with some food and you can then be on your way. I just don’t want to worry her,” I hesitated.

“I…I understand,” She said, sadly.

“I can see you tomorrow! We can maybe see a play down in Marywell. I also got this collection of music that I am sure you will love. I can teach you how to milk some cows, too!” I smiled.

Beth looked saddened and uninterested, “I’m okay. I’ll just head home. I should probably go see my cousins and see how they are personally handling the loss of my parents.”

“Why not live with them? You shouldn’t be living in all that debris, Beth,” I wondered.

“If only it was that easy,” she softly said.

“Of course, it is!” I said.

“I am not seeing them to move in. No. I will only be seeing them from afar,” she said.

“What? That’s weird. Why would you do that? They would want to see you. Why would you keep your distance?” I asked.

“Because I need to say goodbye to them,” she said.

“Why would you do that? That’s absurd. Goodbye for what-”

“Young man?” an old lady called out from behind.

I turned around, “Yes?”

“Are you all right?” the old lady asked.

“Why yes, I am. I am just talking to my friend,” I said.

“Sir,” the old lady observed behind me where Beth was standing. “Nobody is there.”

“What?” I turned around and Beth was not there.

What the? Where is she? Where did she go? She left so fast. Why? I left the old lady and started running. Where can she go? Back to her place? Of course, she would. I have to get there.

I ran faster than ever back to Nevula. I barged into her house when I got there. My head was spinning. She’s not here. I searched everywhere. Why, Beth? Why did you leave me on the street?

I searched the kitchen and paused when I stepped on something that popped. A bag of potato chips was on the ground. What? I picked up the chips and examined it. It was untouched by the bombing. There must be more food. I searched the cabinets and discovered canned vegetables. What the heck? I thought she didn’t have any food. She lied to me.

“I see you found my secret,” Beth’s voice came from behind me.

I quickly turned around towards her. She was at the kitchen entrance watching me.

“H-How did you-”

“You don’t get it. Don’t you?” she asked.

“What do you mean?” I raised my voice. “You lied to me! I thought you were starving to death, but all you did was use me. But, for what?”

She calmly walked closer to me. I can feel her presence near me. She was cold and it was obvious. He breath breathing on my neck as she stood in front of me was cold. I guess it was not obvious to me at the time. Not even when I held her hand multiple times.

“You’re right. I did use you,” Beth admitted.

“Why? Why put me through all of this?” I grew louder. “You made me look crazy when you ran off and that lady questioned me!”

“You’re not crazy,” she smiled. Beth then began to tear up. Laughter broke out from her with tears falling down to her chin. “I’m dead.”

Beth’s laughter disappeared and all that was visible was her crying expression.

“What?” I asked.

“I am dead, Marlo. I am not alive. Wasn’t it obvious?” she said, walking around the kitchen.

“You’re not dead! We touched and you rid a horse! That does not make you near dead!” I yelled.

“But, I am! Those guys at the bar were not just questioning you just to do it. You were talking to someone that they couldn’t even see, Marlo! I would know. I walked into a forest in Nevula and saw a doe that didn’t even budge when I was a fear feet away. It took for me to pet it and it jumped and ran off. I don’t know about you, Marlo, but that is not normal!” Beth explained.

“Th-This doesn’t make any sense-”

“And that lady thought you were crazy because it seemed like you were talking to yourself. The reason why I used you is that I don’t think I will ever be able to hang out with anyone else ever again. I don’t know why you can see me, but you can. I died yesterday and it felt like I’ve been dead for years. Minutes become days when you are alone in a world that can’t even acknowledge your existence. That bomb killed me and I am so scared because of it,” she said.

“Then how can you feel hunger?” I asked.

“When I died, I was starving because the bomb killed us before dinner was even ready. I have this burn on my wrist from trying to use this newfangled flatiron that mom had four days ago. It still burns right now and ice and treatment will not do anything,” she explained. “Every pain that I felt before I die, I feel it right now after my death. The thing that sucks is that there is nothing that I can do about it.”

“Th-This is crazy. If you knew you were dead, then why did you even make an attempt to tell me to not touch the glass?” I asked.

“You are the first person to show up here, other than the fire people. When you touched something that meant so much to my mother, I was defensive. I wanted everything to be left just how the bomb left it. I didn’t want no human life touching anything if it wasn’t my parents.”

“Then…where are your parents?” I asked.

“I-I don’t know. I don’t know where they are. But, I do hope they are together. Death is so perplexed,” Beth said.

“We-We have to do something about this!” I stammered. “You can’t live like this-”

“Marlo! I can’t live like anything if I am not even alive. You…” Beth took a deep breath. “You need to understand that and get out of here. I need you to run home to your mother and be there for her. I need you to be a big brother to your sister, right now. I held you in longer than I shouldn’t have.”

“Don’t you dare talk like that! Don’t bring in my family and my duties and make it seem like you coerced me into doing all of this!” I yelled.

“Marlo, you need to leave, right now,” she said.

A tear ran down my cheek and she stepped into the hall leading to where I first encountered her.

“You can’t just leave like this. Clearly, fate brought me here, Beth. You can’t just leave!” I cried.

“So, what do you want to do, huh?” she asked. “You want to live the rest of your life taking care of some ghost while you age and age and age and I have to watch you die? How will you live a life with a family if you’re babysitting me?”

I didn’t say anything. How could I answer that when she was right? Being with her now would not make it forever. Therefore, why can’t I let go?

“Exactly, Marlo. Just what I thought. Now, please…go. I-I can’t even fathom how you must be feeling. I am so sorry,” she cried. Beth began to fade slowly. “Don’t ever come back, please.”

“No! Please don’t go!” I ran to her and she disappeared completely. The white orchid from her hair dropped onto the wooden floor. The cold air disappeared with her. She was gone but not entirely. She left just so that I can leave. I know that.

I went outside of Beth’s house and looked at her house. I’ll miss her. Hopefully, I’ll be able to see her soon and she’ll actually let me see her.

The blue butterfly caught my eye again. It flew out of Beth’s home broken window. It was glowing. I washed it with my eyes as it flew away into the distance. I followed the butterfly again. It brought me to a field of white orchids. Many of them died due to the bombing. Some were regrowing again. The butterfly landed on a dead one. Quickly, I took out my camera and snapped a photo of the butterfly. The instant film printed out from the camera and I took it out and shook it. The butterfly was not in the photo. It was just the white decaying orchids.

--

--