The Dream

Auro K. Datta
Primary Burn
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2024

The doorbell rang. I heard my mother open the door and let someone in. No inkling of who it was and not even caring to inquire, i continued with my work, bent upon my desk. Until I heard her voice. My eyes widened in disbelief. It wasn’t possible, just wasn’t possible at all. My head spun around instinctively. It was her. Not knowing what to say, i blurted out, “Why are you here?”
Without any reaction she said, “I missed my tuitions as I was late, so I came to check on you.”
I was too tongue tied to speak, but somehow composed myself to start up a conversation. We talked about the old days.
Sometime in between I asked, “How long are you gonna stay?” “I’m supposed to have tuitions till night,” she winked, “So you got me all day.”
I was elated, not knowing how to control my happiness.
Night came, i asked her to stay the night. She hesitated but finally obliged. After dinner i went to sleep, not knowing whether to laugh or cry. It was the best day i had in ages.
I was almost asleep when i felt someone on the bed beside me. I opened my eyes. It was her. She bent over and kissed me. Before we knew it, we were making love. I was nervous, as it was my first time. It was her first time also. Yet it was passionate love making, something way beyond my deepest fantasies, something i would remember for ages.
Then we fell asleep, locked in each other’s arms, our warm bodies touching each other.
I woke up with the sun shining on my face. My hand covering my eyes, I smiled as i remembered last night. I extended my other hand to touch her. My hand extended full, in vain. She was gone. My eyes still covered, I let a frustrated sigh as I realized that she wasn’t there at all.
It was just another dream…
© Auro_01042016

--

--