What I do: Supporting London’s GPs to return to practice

Dr Mansi Gandhi Shah explains why she enjoys being a GP and how she was supported to return to practice in 2015 through the GP Induction and Refresher Scheme.

NHS London
Primary Care in London

--

The General Practice Forward View, published one year ago this month, set out an ambition to secure 5,000 more doctors in general practice by 2020/21. As part of this, NHS England is working closely with Health Education England (HEE) to support GPs who have taken a break from working in the NHS to return to practice.

Dr Mansi Gandhi Shah qualified as a GP in 2006 and works in London. In this interview, Mansi explains why she enjoys being a GP and how she was supported to return to practice in 2015 through the GP Induction and Refresher Scheme.

What attracted you to become a GP in the first place?

I was always attracted to general practice because of the breadth of patents you see. I liked that we see the whole spectrum in terms of age and illness.

It also struck me as a career which would provide some work/life balance. I knew that having a family was important to me, so I chose a career path where I felt this would be possible.

What would you say is the best thing about being a GP in London?

I would say that the best thing is the diversity — both of the people I treat and work with, and the health needs and expectations of my patients. I’m not sure that you’d experience this elsewhere.

I love being a GP — it’s the one on one interaction, you really get to know your patients; you see the mother, the grandmother, the child. It’s about very much getting to know the family and helping them. And, most importantly, it allows you to work but also be at home and spend lots of time with your family if that’s what is important to you.

You had a six year career break when you had your children. How did you make the decision to come back to practice?

I really enjoy my job, so I always knew I wanted to come back at some point. So, when my children entered school, I decided to get back into work. What is great about this profession is that there is a very clear route back to practice, which doesn’t exist in all medical professions.

I researched the Induction and Refresher scheme as I didn’t know how difficult it would be to get back into practice. I was glad there was a pathway allowing GPs a way of returning. Two years before I wanted to start working, I contacted the local HEE office (London Deanery at the time) and filled in the application form. The local office asked me when I would like to start my placement, so I decided to delay doing my exams so that come September, when my youngest started school, I would start the placement. It was a decision completely based on family and to fit in with my children, but the local office was brilliant about it, they just said whenever you’re ready, just let us know. There was no pressure to get on with it before I was ready.

What practical support did you get from the GP Induction and Refresher scheme to support with your return to work?

My supervisor was very good and really approachable. It was lovely to be in a scheme rather than just being ‘out there’ as it gave you the right to ask without anyone feeling you are being a nuisance, or to be slow — all the things you that you are because you haven’t worked for a while. General practice has changed and it’s nice having someone who is not responsible for you but is there to support you.

The practice was very good at helping me to get up to speed; they were happy to take their time at helping me to get my knowledge back up. I started on 30 minute appointments, eventually moving up to the usual 10 minutes. I was happy with the amount of work I had and the number of consultations I did as part of my placement. It was a good work/life balance.

What advice would you give to other GPs who are considering a return to practice?

I would encourage you to return at a time that is right for you, and make sure that you have a supervisor that you work well with as they are a big source of support. I’d also say it’s important to consider things like your finances and childcare too — but the scheme does help to work around you and your lifestyle.

I didn’t realise how much I missed being a GP until I started doing it again. It’s really lovely being back and seeing patients!

About the scheme

To qualify for the scheme you need to have in place the necessary licenses and qualifications and to have practised or trained as an NHS GP.

· Practical support

When you register for the Induction and Refresher Scheme you will be contacted by your dedicated account manager who will guide you through the entire process. Support from your account manager includes:

- Advice on completing forms and paperwork

- Assistance with arranging occupational health assessments

- Advice on arranging indemnity

- Co-ordinating assessments and placements on your behalf.

· Financial support

For many GPs, the costs associated with coming back to general practice can put them off wanting to make the return journey. But there is now much more financial support available to help make this easier for you.

Find out more about the scheme here.

--

--

NHS London
Primary Care in London

High quality care for all, now and for future generations.