Featured Founder: Diamond Age’s Jack Oslan

Prime Movers Lab
Prime Movers Lab
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2021

This month we feature Jack Oslan, Co-founder of Diamond Age (Lab Fund 2)

Jack (right) with Diamond Age co-founder and CTO Russel Varone

What was the catalyst that inspired you to found Diamond Age?

My son came to me and told me he was going to move his family to Denver because they couldn’t afford to buy a house and home ownership was a priority for him and his wife. Quite frankly that pissed me off that my son was going to move away from me because he couldn’t afford to buy a home. Diamond Age was born in that moment of anger and solving the attainable housing problem for younger generations has become a deeply personal challenge for me.

If you could have a sci-fi component in your house, what would it be?
I would have a “sleep concentrator” so I would only have to sleep for one hour a day and get the equivalent of 8 hours — I’ve got two lifetimes worth of stuff to accomplish.

What depiction of the future in a TV show, book, or movie most resonates with you and why?
Clearly that would be The Diamond Age: Or, a Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson. Everyone has a “matter compiler” so they can 3D print whatever they need from food, tools, and even shelter if your system is big enough — sound familiar?

What did you read recently that you would recommend?
I recently read Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankel. It’s a remarkably concise account of something that I’ve believed my entire life and that is; if you have a purpose in life, your life will have meaning. I try to live a purpose driven life every day and provide opportunities for others to do the same in the companies I build.

Prime Movers Lab invests in breakthrough scientific startups founded by Prime Movers, the inventors who transform billions of lives. We invest in companies reinventing energy, transportation, infrastructure, manufacturing, human augmentation, and agriculture.

Sign up here if you are not already subscribed to our blog.

--

--