Savoring Life

Instead of Seeking Variety

Dakin Sloss
Prime Movers Lab
2 min readNov 16, 2020

--

If I had to sum up my top takeaway from 2020 so far, it boils down to savoring life instead of seeking variety. What does this mean exactly?

Well, for me, when COVID hit, I took it as an opportunity to dive into even more personal development exercises, activities and journeys and to push the boundaries of trying all sorts of new experiences in the realms of mind, body and spirit. This is consistent with my overall motto of living life to the fullest expressed in the concept that “excess is not enough”. What I have realized over the past 9 months is that no amount of pushing for more and seeking variety is ultimately fulfilling for me.

What is fulfilling is savoring and appreciating the incredible depth of each moment as it arrives: whether it’s waking up to the new fresh layer of twinkling snow, or sitting by the fire with my wife, or walking our dog, or connecting with a founder about a challenge they are facing. A past iteration of me would have viewed these moments as the filler content in between a series of peak experiences such as climbing a mountain, exiting a company or starting a new venture. What I now see is that each moment of life has the potential to be just as meaningful and enriching as those peak experiences if we bring the right mindset to it.

That mindset is one of gratitude and savoring — finding every last bit of joy possible in exactly what is here and now. And what’s amazing is that with that mindset, all the variety we could ever want is also right here and now. The feeling of my clothes on my body. The flow of blood through my vessels. The view of the trees in the wind. Every single moment of our life has all the beauty and adventure we are seeking if we just slow down to take it in. I hope that as we enter the holiday season you take the time to savor your life, your friends, your business and your family — because we don’t know how long we will have any of it and we don’t want to miss out on it while it is here.

Prime Movers Lab invests in breakthrough scientific startups founded by Prime Movers, the inventors who transform billions of lives. We invest in seed-stage companies reinventing energy, transportation, infrastructure, manufacturing, human augmentation and agriculture.

Sign up here if you are not already subscribed to our blog.

--

--

Dakin Sloss
Prime Movers Lab

Backing breakthrough scientific startups transforming billions of lives across energy, transportation, infrastructure, manufacturing,and human augmentation.