Unicorn: The Tale of Sarah Brooks’ Evening to Remember

Paul Grech
Primos
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2017

The magical, mythological and majestic creature we all heard about. It originated in the continent of Asia in the 5th century BC. It supposedly has healing properties and is surprisingly the symbol of Scotland.

It was all everyone was talking about, everybody went crazy about it. Everybody apart from me. You see I was more interested in studying small organisms on my microscope then a silly myth. Then everything changed.

I was walking near a lake (like I do every Sunday) searching for new bacteria to add to my collection when I heard some galloping steps. I thought it was a local wildlife ranger reminding me not to tamper with the eco-system as they had already done three times this month. So I casually stood up and looked at where the noise came from.

Instead of the ranger I was staring straight at what I thought was only fiction. My heart started beating as fast as a humming birds’ wings. I froze as it gazed right in my eye. I felt as if it was reading my mind. It lowered its’ horn, barely touching the green water and purified a small patch. It took a sip of the clear water and slowly galloped deeper in the woods in a powerful but elegant motion.

I have visited the same lake many times since that day, at the same time but I never saw it again and I probably never will. I have told no one about this to this very day, years after it happened, but I cannot keep this to myself. I hope I can trust you with my secret.
Federica Grech [11 years old]

--

--

Paul Grech
Primos
Editor for

Eager to make a difference. Lover of books, movies, music and football. Not necessarily in that order.