Why I Tithe to My Church

Our budget is built around our tithe, not the other way around

Anthony Saffer
Principled Prosperity

--

Growing up we were inconsistent, holiday church goers. “Church” was wrapped in confusing ritual for me. I lamented that the priest always talked about money and buildings and I didn’t even have any money to feel guilty about not giving. It just bugged me.

In talking to many others, I think a lot of people share a similar experience. It’s too bad because those experiences often stick forever, and a wall remains between giving money and church (or religion, faith, or however you want to classify it). The unfortunate fact is once walls are built, they are not easily overcome, ultimately causing people to miss out.

I make a decent living with an upward trajectory in my career. I also live in high-priced Southern California with my wife and three children. My wife does work a few income- generating hours but otherwise works tirelessly raising our children and running our household. We have a mortgage while also simultaneously building a business and our discretionary income is limited. My point is you could make the argument either way — that I have the means to give or reason not to give. We all come from different financial positions and it really doesn’t matter one way or the other how much we have. I watched Derek Carr, the Oakland Raiders quarterback after he signed a $125M contract extension say he was going to do what he always does with his money, including tithing and helping a lot of people. I also see single moms give when it appears that they don’t have two nickels to rub together. Rich or poor, lots to give or little, it doesn’t matter.

My wife and I have committed to tithe (a tithe is literally a tenth, or 10%) on our income consistently. It’s not a fluid, ongoing decision based on if we feel like we have enough to give. Our budget is built around our tithe, not the other way around. Why are we committed to this? It’s important, not because it’s a rule.

Here’s what I see my church doing with that money. I see kids with checked-out parents being given a purpose, a hope, direction, food and Christmas gifts. I see single moms who are diligently working to provide for their children practically and spiritually being helped to make ends meet. I see the homeless fed, widows supported, and the lonely befriended. I see adults and children educated with real, life-changing content. I see outreach to the poor and oppressed in other nations. It’s not a perfect system with perfect people. It’s just the church doing and being what it is supposed to be: “Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of our God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, and to keep oneself unstained by the world.” (James 1:27). That “stain” in the world is all the other “stuff,” particularly the self-serving agendas that veer from and obscure God’s real plan for His church.

Argue all you want why tithing is for suckers or even why you’re not able to do it. I understand. I talk to a lot of people about finances. That’s what I do. The calculations and decisions about asset allocation and retirement plans are the easy part. Diving deep into someone’s relationship with money and addressing what true wealth means to unique people is much more worthwhile (and challenging). I understand the experiences that build those walls against giving. I wish I could tell you that my experience as a kid in the church was me just missing the real story behind the scenes and that I just didn’t see amazing things happening. I don’t believe that to be true. I think I was discerning correctly. I was in a place where “true religion” was largely not happening.

But I thank God that experience did not blind me forever because giving is freeing! Tithing is the consistent foundation of our giving but is only the start. We give above that as we are able and hope to further grow in generosity. I hope you’ll take a fresh look.

Anthony Saffer, CFP of One Degree Advisors, Inc. helps people who are committed to connecting plans for their finances, family, and future. Learn more at: onedegreeadvisors.com.

Advisory services offered through One Degree Advisors, Inc. Securities offered through Securities America, Inc., Member FINRA/SIPC. One Degree Advisors and Securities America are separate companies.

--

--