Featured Member Profile:
Chantel K. Watts, Executive Wordsmith

Paul K. Barnes
PRISM Collaborative
6 min readNov 22, 2019

--

Being a black creative is something you’re either cut out for or you’re not. This is especially true when you choose the writing path. It’s time consuming in addition to some waiting period until the final result is shared with the world. It’s something you don’t just pick up and do. You have to have a passion for it otherwise it becomes as a task. Writer and creative Chantel K. Watts knows all about this, as she goes by her saying “Don’t stop. If no one reads it, if no one wants to pay you, if no one takes you seriously- DON’T STOP.”

Chantel is not only one one of the founding members and Executive Wordsmith of PRISM but also the creator of one of its entities, FIFTY54 Magazine, which is on a mission to “create a space where even the most novice of black writers and journalists are published alongside the more seasoned ones.” Chantel explained that “The FIFTY represents the “50” states of the United States, and the 54 represents the “54” recongized nations of Africa.” She further explains this meaning as it also connects to “the Black American Dream; the inception of life that began in Africa lives in us … so by definition we can create anything we choose; where we are and where we’re going can coincide and serve as motivation and a goal.” Outside of PRISM or FIFTY54, Chantel has self-published two books — In My Mind (2016) and Edward’s Libretto (2018) — and worked as an Educator and Youth Developer for over 5 years, speaking recently at Marymount College and Queensboro Community College.

As you may have already picked up on, Chantel is all about empowering us to reach our true potential. She says the most important thing to her within this creative world is “Letting black people know what their story is important, whether they have an MFA or a 3rd grade education. You can write it, you should write it, and you can be damn good at it.” and with her actions this shows.

As a creative myself, I can attest to the fact that it is not an easy field to be in. Of course, I have those I can always count on to read my work, but when anyone outside that group compliments it, I feel more special. At the same time, the concept of getting critiqued is intimidating. Chantel also relates to this as she sometimes is intimidated by the thought “that I will never be better than what I was yesterday or that what I’m known for is all I’ll ever really be and I can’t evolve.”

An aspect of the writing world that we encounter no matter what area or topic we partake in, is rejection. Like most mediums of art, Writing is based in spending hours, days, weeks — even months creating something and then presenting it to the world for them to react to it however they want. Music, my area of expertise, is a prime example: you feel complete when you finish a piece, but rejection can make this happiness vanish. Remembering the first time she was turned down: “Strangely, I felt validated and hurt at the same time.” Chantel says. “You couldn’t tell me the world was ending; that hell froze over and I was set to be taken over by aliens from Mars. My heart sank so far low, I could have sworn I shitted some of it out. Then I got cocky- they don’t want me? I’m a damn good writer, are they dumb? Then I felt validated. I was still hurt and cocky, but I was validated.” A “I don’t need them, they need me” mindset is the exact one to have.Keep your head high and remain confident in your own abilities regardless of people’s responses to your work. Before we want anyone else to believe in us, we must believe in ourselves. Then, those closest to us — friends, fellow creatives, writers — will believe in us and motivate us further. Discussing how writers view themselves within the creative world, Chantel reflects “…it’s all about the networking. I know a lot of writers who think that they don’t have the expertise or people with stories that I think that they should share. I contact them, and let them know that they don’t need to be what they deem ‘professional or ‘expert’ — I just want to give them a chance.”

Support amongst mutuals is one of the core foundations of PRISM which makes her a perfect fit for the collaborative. Black people, or those of marginalized identities with similar struggles of generational trauma or systemic oppression, especially take to kinship as a required principle of life. We are collectively told that what we desire from life will only be made possible through one another. Being a black millennial women creative and educator, there are many more times Chantel is written off from before she walks in the door, but she not only transcends that, but has always tried to apply that principle for so many others.

Within the world of writing, the author only has the words on the screen or page as a platform to showcase who they are. Their voice comes through the words they use and this can shape how people perceive them. Often, people only have the author’s writing voice or their picture is the only connection they can make with people before they met them in person. Even in real life, Chantel was victim to this same issue, with now friends sharing with her that things like ““I thought you were a bitch”, “I was intimidated by you”,`’’I noticed your eyes”, or even “I loved your smile”.” She said she would “…be lying if I said I don’t care what people think- being a writer you have to unapologetic but not foolish.” Her response to those who don’t know her yet is “I want people to know that I work hard. I don’t take any bullshit, but I love helping people. I want everyone to win. I want to spread love and opportunities like wildfire…You get that from watching me work, talking to me, talking to people around me.”

If you’re like me, then writing while listening to music is basically a necessity. Music and words go hand in hand, like finding the right show or movie on Netflix before eating your food. Finding the right playlist or album to listen to is top priority before working on a piece. For Chantel this entire process is based on her mood. “If I don’t know what I’m going to write and a song gives me inspiration, then I listen to that song over and over and write it all in one sitting.

“I’ve written films, novels, collections of poems all in one sitting while listening to music. The song, ‘Bad Religion’ by Frank Ocean gave me the boost to write a short film — about 45 mins -in little over an hour with editing. I don’t know; I feel like when I listen to music, I can see scenes and stories forming in my mind.”

However, with all this inspiration around us we still must find time to write. In the present portable age, Chantel is one of many you will find in a Barnes & Noble or a mode of transportation working away on their laptops. “I’m always on the go, I like to create on the go. But I really love being with friends, AirPods in, creating something and then sharing it. Or riding the subway and writing about people I see. Anything, anywhere, to create is really my vibe.” This connects right back to the social aspect Chantel prides herself on.

Like her desire to be social, Chantel’s commitment to writing is impossible to miss. Radiating love is one of her mantras and that’s what makes her such an important person within the world of black creatives. Whether she’s writing, speaking or making connections happen, she puts her all into it in order to make sure everyone comes out ahead. She remains down to Earth while doing all this, but confident in her talent and ability to carry out any task she’s assigned effectively. She most recently became the non-fiction editor of inQluded and with books, scripts and a whole magazine under her belt there’s no telling where she’ll go next.

Just be ready for it when it happens.

--

--

Paul K. Barnes
PRISM Collaborative

Paul is a music journalist that loves movies, video games and food.