Faith, Impressionism, and Monet: An Interview with Susan Jenkins

William B
PRISM NFT Marketplace
3 min readMay 11, 2022
Fire Sky

Susan Jenkins is an American Impressionist painter who runs a Youtube channel called “Monet Cafe.” In the interview we discuss her background, sources of inspiration, impressionism, and faith.

Could you elaborate on your artistic background?

I majored in Graphic Design and was awarded most outstanding artist upon graduation from the University of North Florida in 1987. Even though I am primarily self-taught with respect to painting and fine art, I do believe that my graphic design background and career enhanced my painting skills and strengths in seeing beautiful compositions and understanding color theory.

Fields of Gold

You are an impressionist painter. Why did you choose this artistic style?

Yes, I am most definitely an impressionistic painter. As with many artists, (including Monet and even Picasso) we often start out painting more realistically and then evolve to interpret the scene through a “painterly” lens. For me, painting is about interpreting and not reproducing.

Monet Afternoon

Who is your favorite impressionist painter? What inspiration do you draw from this person?

My favorite impressionistic painter is Claude Monet. It’s pretty obvious actually, since my brand name for my YouTube channel, and art business is “Monet Cafe’”. I am captivated by his interpretation of the landscape with his use of surprising color with a loose and gestural style. His work reminds me of a beautiful dream. That’s actually how I feel when I’m painting….. like I’m painting a dream.

Your paintings seem to be centered around nature. What do you believe to be the relationship between art and nature?

My work is most definitely centered around nature. I believe the connection between art and nature is inherent. We have been created in the image of God who is the Master Creator and therefore we are, naturally, inspired to create ourselves. His gallery is all around us and we can’t help but be in awe by its magnificent beauty. I believe the artist is instinctively driven to create, It is a beautiful obsession.

My Blue Heaven

What do you want your viewers to experience while looking at one of your paintings?

In my many years of painting I have learned to paint for the joy of it, rather than for praises, awards, or artistic status. However, that doesn’t mean I don’t desire to ignite the hearts and souls of others when they view my work. I hope and pray that viewers can be frozen in a moment, and my interpretation of nature through light, color and composition, can sear through the window of their soul, offering a moment of awe and peace.

You can follow Susan’s Instagram page here.

You can find her NFTs at prismnfts.com at https://prismnfts.com/user/@susanjenkins?sort=1&skip=0

--

--

William B
PRISM NFT Marketplace

Head of Social Media/ Senior Sales Executive for PRISM NFT Marketplace and HELO Blockchain