Joey Cruz: From Humble Beginnings to Living the Dream

William B
PRISM NFT Marketplace
3 min readMay 25, 2022
Joey Cruz

What made you begin pursuing art as a career?

Art has always been a passion of mine ever since I was a kid, but because of the culture and the lifestyle that I grew up in, I could not fulfill it. In 5th grade, my teacher inspired and pushed me ,but only later in life when my best friend and his father (both artists) encouraged me to join their exhibition did I take it seriously. During my first art exhibition, my three paintings were the first pieces that were sold! From that day, I realized I was born to be an artist.

Humanity

On your PRISM profile it says you paint only using two brushes, why is this?

Yes I like using two brushes because of the challenge it presents. The older the brushes, the better, in my opinion. If I can make something look good while challenging myself, it instills a sense of confidence within me. Using 2 brushes also reminds me of my humble beginnings, when I couldn’t afford anything. My best friend and his father used to lend me their old brushes.

Lady in Paris

What do your paintings reveal about your personality?

My paintings represent me as a person and a human being. Every color and brush stroke represents my mood. When I’m depressed, nostalgic and unhappy it shows in my black and white or darker series. Alternatively, when I’m happy and joyful, the emotion will be displayed in my green, pink and yellow paintings.

Forever

Some critics assert that abstract art is not art at all. What do you think? What is art to you?

Art comes from the heart. The more critics criticize my art, the more I love it! When people take a deep look at my work and ask “is this art?” that’s the best compliment I could possibly receive.

Inoubliable

What drives you to create? What are your inspirations in life?

I am inspired everyday. Every morning that I woke up is an inspiration. The sun, moon, earth, wind, water, trees, plants, animals, music, the whole world (no matter how crazy it is), the people that I meet, my family, friends and relatives.

If you want to learn more about Joey you can visit his website here.

If you are interested in buying some of his PRISM NFT Marketplace NFTs(prismnfts.com) then you can visit his profile here.

--

--

William B
PRISM NFT Marketplace

Head of Social Media/ Senior Sales Executive for PRISM NFT Marketplace and HELO Blockchain