A World Leader Wrote Me About Homophobic Catholic Theology

They want to ‘crystalize opposition.’ Can you help?

James Finn
Prism & Pen

--

When I saw who the email came from, I dropped my phone.

My first thought was that it had to be fake. Why would a renowned former head of state write to me? But I only needed a few moments to verify the source.

I took a minute to stan.

This leader has worked on the frontlines of social justice for years. I followed their career and writing as they led their nation with grace, optimism, and a daring sense of revolutionary possibility. I’ve admired them as they continue to leverage their platform to promote the equality of women, LGBTQ people, and marginalized minorities all over the globe.

They wrote to congratulate me for my story about last week’s shocking Vatican ruling that upholds anti-LGBTQ teachings and kills the possibility of meaningful LGBTQ reform in the Roman Catholic Church for the foreseeable future.

--

--

James Finn
Prism & Pen

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.