After 15 Years of LGBTQ Living, I Forget I am Queer Sometimes

Queer is my most interesting trait for some, forgettable for me.

Meagon Nolasco
Prism & Pen

--

Author’s own shameless selfie

Many of us are aware society likes to label things. Being able to slap a label onto someone usually puts them into a neat box that others can process easier. I find that labels are necessary for certain situations. I like to know if someone is Democrat or Republican. I can’t imagine not labeling street signs or freeway exits. Restaurants deserve a good label so we all know the food we are putting into our bodies.

People though? Well, I agree that labels for individuals can be helpful for many reasons. Labels can help us identify marginalized populations. Labels can assist us in finding those who are like us and to help us gravitate towards our tribes. But they should not be the things we base someone's entire being on.

Too queer, not queer enough, the right queer

I am a lesbian. I am a masculine lesbian who is active in the LGBTQ community and who has been out and proud since I was 17. Which was almost 15 years ago now. Dear god.

But sometimes, I forget I am queer. I have lived this queer lifestyle for so long I forget that I am different than the norm. I forget that I am also part of a marginalized…

--

--