LGBTQIA/Relationships/Family

After Divorce, Rethink the Definition of “Family”

Maturity offers us the freedom to reexamine how we define love.

Loren A Olson MD
Prism & Pen
Published in
6 min readSep 29, 2020

--

Man comforting his distressed wife.
DepositPhoto.com/183869010

My ex-wife, Lynn, and I would have been married now for fifty-two years. But I’ve been with my husband now for thirty-three years; we married as soon as the law allowed.

I love my husband, and I love Lynn.

Although we’re no longer married, I often refer to Lynn as my wife. She’s the only one I’ve ever had, and I’m quite sure that I’ll never have another one.

Both my husband and ex-wife are essential parts of my life and history.

A few weeks ago, my husband and I went out to dinner with a good friend who was a classmate of mine in medical school. Early in our professional careers, he and his first wife had been friends with Lynn and me. So, I invited Lynn to join us.

I said to the server, “This is my husband . . . and this is my wife.” At first, he looked stunned. Then his expression changed to “Oh . . . now I get it.”

Both Lynn and my husband are excellent cooks. It’s not uncommon for them to prepare the food together for family celebrations like Thanksgiving and graduations.

--

--

Loren A Olson MD
Prism & Pen

Gay father; Psychiatrist; Award-winning author FINALLY OUT. Chapter excerpt here: http://bit.ly/2EyhXTY Top writer on Medium. Not medical advice.