‘All Of Us Strangers’ Is About Growing Up Queer and Lonely

This film is haunting my queer little heart

Giulio Serafini
Prism & Pen

--

Photo by Gioele Fazzeri on Unsplash

The other night I found myself watching “All Of Us Strangers”, a movie that was quite hyped within the queer community both for its theme and relevant cast choices. Out since December 2023, it was directed by Andrew Haigh and features Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal as the lead actors.

I went into it knowing very little about it, expecting only an emotional rollercoaster and an uncomfortable amount of relating to sad character backstories, and boy was I right about that. If you’re interested in bawling your eyes out too, you can watch the movie here.

At its core, the film is about a queer man named Adam coming to terms with his past traumas relating to how his parents treated him as a kid. During his journey, Adam brings up several experiences that are “canonical” for queer people, meaning anyone within the community can relate to it. He openly talks about these things with Harry, a neighbour who also happens to be queer and who will go on to have a romantic relationship with Adam.

Admittedly, almost everything Adam and Harry discuss is meat to resonate with queer people, especially gay men, but out of all the conversations they had, there were a couple I just could not stop thinking about.

--

--

Giulio Serafini
Prism & Pen

I write about everything I like or that I find interesting: pop culture, queer stories, music reviews and show recommendations, so stick around and stay tuned!