An Open Letter to a Cousin About My Being Gay

Now that we are both grown, I realize that we don’t really know each other

Michael Horvich (he, him)
Prism & Pen

--

Photo by Derek Owens on Unsplash

Cousin Karen. We are “friends” on Facebook and in real life, cousins. I am older, you are younger. When you were born, I helped welcome you home as your mom and dad arrived at the apartment building in which both of our families lived. Over the years I began with babysitting and changing your diapers and watched as you grew into early womanhood.

Your family; my Aunt, Uncle, and the four of you kids; moved to California. I do not remember when or why but it ended up being a good move for you all. Over the years, as an adult, I visited several times in CA.

But then as happens with families, we no longer kept in touch and knowing who you were slowly disappeared. I do not remember if you went to college, what your ambitions or career choices were, who the man you married was, and never got to know any of your children or by now, the children of your children.

I do remember that as a child and a young woman, you were independent. You lived life your way and became who you chose to become. Your mom raised you to be so and to do so, but then this caused conflict between the two of you because she was so successful in doing so.

--

--

Michael Horvich (he, him)
Prism & Pen

I write essays & poetry about my life insights & philosophies, the LGBTQ Community & Dementia/ Alzheimer’s Disease. I am Old. Jewish. Buddhist. Gay. Widowed.