Bisexual Iowa Public School Teacher Suspended

100 students protest bigoted district superintendent

James Finn
Prism & Pen

--

PowerPoint slide the Iowa Standard says teacher Lucas Hall presented in class

I’m used to writing about homophobic bigots who run most private Christian schools in the United States. I’m used to expressing outrage at how they constantly discriminate against LGBTQ students and staff, how they normalize bigotry and train children to hate. I’m used to writing about how students at these same private Christian schools are resisting, increasingly taking the lead protesting school-sponsored anti-LGBTQ hatred.

I just wrote about Lucy Sarkissian, a student leader at Valor Christian High School near Denver. She and dozens of her peers have put the school on notice that will not tolerate the bigotry that led to the dismissal of two of their gay sports coaches.

I’m not used to writing about anti-LGBTQ bigotry in PUBLIC schools

After the Supreme Court ruled in June of 2020 that discriminating against LGBTQ people in the workplace violates U.S. civil rights law, I didn’t think I’d ever…

--

--

James Finn
Prism & Pen

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.