CREATIVE NON-FICTION

Can Authoritarianism Be Subtle?

Or is it just that it feels different to the marginalized?

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen
Published in
7 min readMar 3, 2022

--

Photo of Logan Silkwood, wrapped in a rainbow American flag (taken by his wife)

CW: Sex/sexuality, AIDS, critical race theory, slavery mentioned in passing

The picture above got me into a lot of trouble about 4 years ago.

I texted it to a family member who had asked me how I was doing while I was busy enjoying a Pride Parade. The picture was apparently passed around a bit and caused quite a s***storm, poking at some sore spots left over from my coming out to family as the polyamorous spouse of a trans feminine person not too long before the photo was taken. In response, my phone would soon blow up with some very ugly texts about my “lifestyle choices.”

Some texts were insults. Others were downright threatening. One family member would demand that I get a divorce immediately. My refusal to do so would eventually cause me to lose access to several family members, including children who I love very much.

One family member would demand that I get a divorce immediately. My refusal to do so would eventually cause me to lose access to several family members, including children…

--

--

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.