Death and the Klan Wizard: it’s Never Just a Body

Yarrow thought they would never die of old age until this particular cleanup.

Valentine Wiggin
Prism & Pen

--

Photo by Jessica Tan on Unsplash

Caution: this story contains descriptions of human and animal decomposition some readers may find disturbing.

Today, the Aftershock Extreme Cleaning Company got a call regarding an unattended death. Despite these calls becoming increasingly common, something about them always disturbed me. I guessed they always reminded me of the possibility of dying alone, but it wasn’t even dying that I was afraid of. It was more of the idea of no one caring that I lived in the first place that made me uneasy.

To get an idea of what we were getting into, I asked some more questions about the suspected death. Our caller had no idea who the deceased was or what their habits were, so we didn’t know what we were going to walk into. The thing people tend to forget about this job is that a body isn’t just a body. Typically, during unattended death cleanups, we have to throw away rotten food, get rid of swarms of insects, deal with animals on the scene, talk to nearby neighbors, and talk to the police.

“Should we bring peppermint oil or Vapo-rub?” Alfie asked me as he loaded the cleaning chemicals into the van. He had just finished his training; this was his first job.

--

--

Valentine Wiggin
Prism & Pen

Death-positive, sex-positive, and LGBTQ-affirming Christian. Gen Z. I hate onions. She/her