PRIDE IS UNDER THREAT. WHAT DOES THAT MEAN FOR YOU THIS YEAR?

Here’s the Painful Colorado Pride Story I Couldn’t Share Last Year

“We are watching you,” a group of masked anti-LGBTQ+ protesters chanted at us over the megaphone

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen
Published in
5 min readJun 4, 2024

--

A group of anti-LGBTQ+ protesters are standing together on a field, holding a red, white, and blue sign that reads, “Strong nations, Strong families.” The protestors are wearing Gaiter masks. In the foreground, a member of the Parasol Patrol is pointing a rainbow umbrella at them. A row of cars are between the protesters and a fence. Mountains are in the background. It’s a cloudy day.
Photo by Author

Re-watching the minute-long video I took from a Pride event in Castle Rock, Colorado last August is so painful. It takes me right back to a moment when my blood was running cold as ice — on a day that had been so beautiful and warm.

They were holding a giant red, white, and blue sign that read, “Strong Families; Strong Nations”. Their faces were covered with Gaiter masks. They waved American flags meant to inspire fear in the people they hated: us.

They meant with their flags to tell us that this is their country, not ours.

I had stopped canvassing to run to the edge of the event and take that video as evidence, in case things escalated. Only a few minutes earlier, I’d showed a member of the Parasol Patrol a picture of the anti-LGBTQ+ slur “Groomers,” spray-painted in black in the parking lot near my car. I watched her go running without another word.

“We are watching you,” the group of anti-LGBTQ+ protesters chanted at us over the megaphone. In…

--

--

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.