(HOW) HAVE LGBTQ FILM & LITERATURE SHAPED YOU?

How Video Games Helped Me Accept My Queerness

Realisation and acceptance through digital interactive storytelling

Kaylin Hamilton
Prism & Pen
Published in
8 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Photo by Devin Berko on Unsplash

When I saw P&P’s latest writing prompt (How) Have LGBTQ Film & Literature Shaped You? I immediately began to wrack my brain about what queer films and literature I’ve engaged with in the past.

The problem there is that I’m not a big reader of fiction in general, and beyond a very queer film we watched in my my undergraduate sexuality and gender class (big shout out to Shortbus) I haven’t watched much queer film or television either (I know, I know, how uncultured!).

As someone with ADHD I find it rare that a fiction book, film or TV programme can fully grab my attention without my mind wandering (and drama tends to get my anxiety levels up in an unpleasant way, too).

However, I do have one avenue for enjoying fiction narratives and storytelling: video games.

Video games have long been a solace of mine, from the good old days of Pokemon (and yes, I still play Pokemon as a 35 year-old, albeit on a full colour Nintendo DS rather than the old grayscale Gameboy) to more modern series like Skyrim, Fallout and Cyberpunk 2077.

--

--

Kaylin Hamilton
Prism & Pen

I write about feminist issues, queer politics, disability and social justice. PhD in Sociology & Social Policy. Editor for Prism & Pen. She/Her.